Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Wofford upends Jacksonville State to advance

Jacksonville, AL (Sports Network) - Eric Breitenstein rushed for 178 yards and two touchdowns on 28 carries to lead Wofford past Jacksonville State, 17-14, in the second round of the FCS Playoffs at Burgess-Snow Field.

Mitch Allen completed 8-of-15 passes for 86 yards and ran 12 times for 27 yards for the Terriers (10-2), who will face Georgia Southern next weekend in the quarterfinals.

Marques Ivory connected on 15-of-30 throws for 170 yards and a touchdown but was intercepted twice for the Gamecocks (9-3), who ended the season by losing three of their last four games.

Trailing by nine, Ivory hit Alan Bonner for a six-yard scoring pass to cut the lead to 17-14 with 3:51 remaining in the contest. However, Griffin Thomas missed the extra point.

Wofford took over and never relinquished possession, using six rushing plays to take the remaining time of the clock to seal the win.

After James Esco missed a 37-yard field goal try, Wofford took the lead on Breitenstein's 36-yard touchdown gallop with 33 seconds left in the first quarter.

Thomas hit a 40-yard field goal to get the hosts on the board 4 1/2 minutes into the second quarter before Christian Reed's 28-yard boot five seconds before the half ended gave the Terriers a 10-3 lead at the break.

The only scoring in the third period occurred when Allen recovered his fumble in his own end zone for a safety.

A 35-yard field goal by Thomas 1:46 into the fourth quarter trimmed the deficit to two but Wofford answered on Breitenstein's three-yard scoring scamper to make it 17-8 with 9:14 remaining in the game.

12/04 17:18:27 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners