Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

SE Missouri State keeps the train moving forward

By Brandon Baylor, FCS Intern

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Southeast Missouri State ended the 2009 season with a disappointing 2-9 mark, finishing at the bottom of the Ohio Valley Conference.

That almost seems like ancient history at this point.

Midway through the 2010 season, the Redhawks have turned disappointment into success. They sit atop Ohio Valley Conference standings with a 4-0 mark, and are 5-1 overall.

The Redhawks are No. 18 in The Sports Network/Fathead.com FCS top 25 - their highest ranking since moving to Division I. Thanks to positive play from veterans quarterback Matt Scheible and running back Henry Harris, SEMO is No. 1 in the OVC in total offense.

Fifth-year head coach Tony Samuel said "that most of our strength has been because of the running game of Henry Harris. He has matured into a different person."

Harris is coming off his fifth straight game over 100 yards rushing and also is on track for reaching 2,000 career yards, which has only been accomplished five times in school history.

Coach Samuel said, "Everyone is excited about what we have done so far because our goal is to win the conference, especially when everyone is still in the hunt."

On Saturday, SEMO will travel to conference rival Austin Peay, which holds an 8-6 lead all-time against the Redhawks. The last three meetings between these two have been decided by no more than three points.

SEMO's potential big game with No. 3 Jacksonville State (6-0, 3-0) is Nov. 13 in Alabama. The Gamecocks, the OVC's preseason favorite, sits in second place.

10/12 13:07:20 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.