Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Ambrose Collects Robinson Award
Towson Coach Honored As Most Outstanding FCS Head Coach
Frisco, TX - Before the season started, Towson was picked to finish last in CAA Football.

However, the Tigers turned the standings upside down this season, putting together a 9-3 record, winning an outright CAA title and hosting a game in the second round of the FCS playoffs.

Having guided his team to new heights, Towson coach Rob Ambrose was honored on Friday as the 2011 Eddie Robinson Award recipient, given annually to the FCS Coach of the Year. The Sports Network presents and Fathead.com sponsors the award.
Continue | Voting

Pete Adrian, Norfolk State
Adrian led the Spartans to a 9-2 regular-season record and their first outright Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference championship as well as their first FCS playoff bid. The Spartans were picked fifth in the MEAC's preseason poll.

Rob Ambrose, Towson
After finishing 3-19 in his first two seasons at Towson, Ambrose led the Tigers to a 9-2 record and their first CAA Football title and FCS playoff bid. The Tigers were picked last in the CAA's preseason poll.

Craig Bohl, North Dakota State
The Bison enter the FCS playoffs as Missouri Valley Football Conference co-champions and with the No. 2 seed. They went 10-1 in the regular season and spent time at No. 1.

Watson Brown, Tennessee Tech
The Golden Eagles had losing records in five of the last six seasons, but Brown has led them to a 7-3 record, a share of their first Ohio Valley Conference title since 1975 and the conference's automatic playoff bid.

Nigel Burton, Portland State
In Burton's second season, the Vikings improved by five wins to 7-4 while tying for third place in the Big Sky Conference. They were picked seventh in the conference's preseason poll.

Ron Caragher, San Diego
The Toreros overcame back-to-back losing seasons by finishing 9-2 for the third time in Caragher's five seasons. They shared the Pioneer Football League championship with Drake.

Andy Coen, Lehigh
Coen guided the Mountain Hawks to their second straight perfect season in the Patriot League, finishing 10-1 overall in the regular season. They earned a first-round bye in the FCS playoffs.

Clint Conque, Central Arkansas
The new purple and gray field at Central Arkansas didn't just dizzy opponents, Conque's 8-3 squad was up to the task as it qualified for the FCS playoffs. The Bears' only Southland Conference loss was to unbeaten Sam Houston State.

Chris Creighton, Drake
Creighton took his squad from an offseason trip to Africa to a share of the Pioneer Football League championship with San Diego. The Bulldogs finished 9-2 for their best record in Creighton's four seasons.

Bob Ford, Albany
Ford earned his 250th career win en route to the Great Danes going 8-3 and capturing a share of the Northeast Conference title and their first playoff bid. Ford has coached at Albany for 42 seasons.

Willie Fritz, Sam Houston State
The Bearkats were the only unbeaten FCS team in the regular season, finishing 11-0 with a win over FBS New Mexico. In Fritz's second season, the Southland Conference champions are ranked No. 1 heading into the playoffs, where they are the top seed.

Gary Harrell, Howard
The Bison improved from 1-10 to 5-6 in Harrell's first season, including a 4-4 mark in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference. They had a 27-game conference losing streak entering the season.

Anthony Jones, Alabama A&M
The Bulldogs reversed a 3-8 finish in 2010 by going 8-3, qualifying for the Southwestern Athletic Conference Championship Game for the fifth time in Jones' 10 seasons. They had a seven-game winning streak after an 0-2 start.

Kevin Kelly, Georgetown
Hoya Paranoia found its way to the gridiron as Kelly led his team to its first winning season (8-3) since 1999 despite playing only four home games. Their 3-2 Patriot record was their best since joining the league in 2001.

Jeff Monken, Georgia Southern
The Eagles won the Southern Conference title with a 9-2 record and spent seven weeks as the FCS' top-ranked team. They earned the third seed for the playoffs.

Tim Murphy, Harvard
Murphy won his sixth Ivy League title while guiding the Crimson to a 9-1 record. They went 7-0 in league games, finishing three games ahead of the four second-place teams.

Chris Mussman, North Dakota
The Fighting Sioux captured a share of the final Great West Football Conference title, reversing a 3-8 record in 2010 with an 8-3 mark this season. Two of the losses were against FBS teams.

Robin Pflugrad, Montana
After the Grizzlies' 17-year playoff run ended last year, Pflugrad has taken them back as the Big Sky Conference co-champion. They won their final seven games in the regular season to improve to 9-2.

Chuck Priore, Stony Brook
The Seawolves overcame an 0-3 start (including losses to two FBS schools) to earn their first outright Big South Conference title and bid to the playoffs. They ended the regular season with an 8-3 mark.

Bobby Wilder, Old Dominion
In the Monarchs' first season in the rugged CAA, they went 9-2 overall and tied for second place. They secured their first playoff bid in just their third season as a program.

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com