Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Eddie Robinson Award

The Sports Network established the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award in 1987, and it has been presented annually to the top coach in FCS, formerly known as Division I-AA. The winner is chosen by a nationwide panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries from the division.

Robinson retired as college football's all-time winningest coach with a record of 408-164-15. He surpassed the legendary Paul "Bear" Bryant for most victories on Oct. 5, 1985, when Grambling State defeated Prairie View A&M. He won his unprecedented 400th game on Oct. 7, 1995 against Mississippi Valley State.

Robinson retired after 57 years of coaching following the 1997 season. He arrived at Grambling in 1941 at the age of 22 after graduating from the now- defunct Leland College in Baton Rouge, La. He then guided the once- obscure Grambling State University Tigers to international popularity. Robinson's teams have played in almost every major city in the United States, and Grambling State and Morgan State were the first two United States college teams to play football in Japan, when they appeared in Tokyo in 1976.

Under Robinson's tutelage, Grambling State has become one of the most prolific "training camps" for professional football, having sent more than 300 players to pro camps, including more than 200 who have played in the NFL. Grambling State received its first national attention in 1949 when Paul "Tank" Younger signed with the Los Angeles Rams, becoming the first player from a historically black college to be taken by the NFL. Other former Tigers players who left their mark on the NFL include Hall-of-Famers Willie Brown, Buck Buchanan and Willie Davis. Robinson pupils also included former Super Bowl MVP and two-time Grambling State head coach Doug Williams, Charlie Joiner, Frank Lewis, Essex Johnson, Billy Newsome and John Mendenhall.

In the words of late Penn State head football coach Joe Paterno, "Nobody has ever done or ever will do what Eddie Robinson has done for college football. Eddie Robinson and Jake Gaither (Florida A&M) stand alone. Our profession will never ever be able to repay Eddie Robinson for what he has done for the country and the profession of football."


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com