Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Year Player Position School
2012 John Robertson Quarterback Villanova
2011 Terrance West Running Back Towson

2012, John Robertson, QB, Villanova
-- After a 2-9 campaign in 2011, Villanova needed a spark to return to FCS relevance. The Wildcats found it in their opening game when redshirt freshman quarterback John Robertson came off the bench and played well, which led to him getting the starting nod from coach Andy Talley moving forward. The move paid dividends for Villanova when Robertson went on to become the second winner of the Jerry Rice Award as the outstanding freshman in the Football Championship Subdivision. The native of Paramus, N.J., received 56 of the 145 first-place votes and 412 points, while Northern Iowa quarterback Sawyer Kollmorgen finished second with 361 points and Appalachian State wide receiver Sean Price third with 312 points. Villanova posted the biggest turnaround in the FCS regular season - six wins - and earned a share of the CAA Football title and the conference's automatic playoff bid. Including a playoff loss, Robertson rushed for 1,021 yards and 14 touchdowns on 189 carries and completed 152-of-253 pass attempts for 1,965 yards and 14 touchdowns with seven interceptions.

2011, Terrance West, RB, Towson
-- It was a season that almost wasn't for Towson freshman running back Terrance West, as he nearly redshirted and sat out the first game of the season. But, after his redshirt was lifted, teams couldn't keep the 5-foot-11, 222-pound freshman out of the end zone. West rushed for 27 touchdowns in the regular season, ranking No. 1 in the FCS. West was honored with the inaugural Jerry Rice Award, which is awarded to the outstanding freshman in the FCS. A Baltimore native, West didn't earn a scholarship until halfway through his superb season and before that the talented freshman struggled to even find a place to play, at times nearly going to Clemson, Maryland and Morgan State.


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com