Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football
Eastern Washington's Kupp hauls 2013 Jerry Rice Award

Eagles' wide receiver honored as most outstanding FCS rookie

Eastern Washington's Cooper Kupp is the first wide receiver to win the Rice Award.

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Jerry Rice has reason to take a liking to Eastern Washington wide receiver Cooper Kupp.

But the legendary Hall of Fame receiver may have to realize Kupp could soar past the prodigious statistics that he produced in college.

On Monday, Kupp became the third recipient of the Jerry Rice Award, which honors the FCS national freshman of the year. Rice was on hand at The Sports Network's national awards banquet Monday to present the trophy.

Kupp won by the biggest margin in the three-year history of the award, gaining 80 of the 147 first-place votes and 557 points from a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries. Appalachian State running back Marcus Cox finished second with 259 points, while Sacred Heart quarterback R.J. Noel and Youngstown State running back Martin Ruiz tied for third with 202 points each.

Kupp is the first wide receiver to win the Rice Award. Towson running back Terrance West was the inaugural recipient in 2011 and Villanova quarterback John Robertson won last year.

As a redshirt freshman this year, the 6-foot-2, 195-pound Kupp has had a breakout season unlike any other in FCS history by a rookie wide receiver. In the regular season, he caught 77 passes and 18 touchdowns for the Big Sky Conference champion Eagles, setting a national freshman record with 1,378 receiving yards. The native of Yakima, Wash., also caught at least one touchdown pass in all 12 of the Eagles' games - a consecutive game record not just for freshmen, but all FCS receivers.

With EWU's two playoff wins this month, Kupp has pushed the touchdown streak to 14 games. His 85 receptions, 1,567 receiving yards and 21 TD catches have never been reached by a freshman previously.

"Bigger than (the statistics), he maximizes every ounce of his talent," EWU coach Beau Baldwin said. "We all see he has talent - lots of talent - but he has a great work ethic for video study, offseason work and preparation. He understands what teams are doing defensively, how to work a release and knows our entire offense. That allows us to put him in different positions. He understands the concept of every play, not just the receiver position he is playing. We can move him around, and teams can't plan for him to be at one spot all the time - he's everywhere within our offense.

"It's hard for a freshman to do those things mentally, and then he's also been tough enough to handle hard hits and play through pain. He's a strong-minded young man with a lot of talent, but it's that mental toughness and work ethic that takes him from being a good or great player to one of the best."

Kupp comes from a rich football background: His father, Craig, was a former NFL quarterback, while his grandfather, Jake, enjoyed a long NFL career as an offensive guard.

There were 147 ballots cast in the 2013 Jerry Rice Award voting. The results:

2013 Jerry Rice Award Voting
Name School 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
1. Cooper Kupp E. Washington 80 21 19 6 4 557
2. Marcus Cox Appalachian St. 16 26 13 13 10 259
T3. RJ Noel Sacred Heart 8 17 17 13 17 202
T3. Martin Ruiz Youngstown St. 5 16 20 21 11 202
5. John Russ Mercer 9 11 11 14 10 160
6. Christophe Mulumba Maine 4 7 9 17 10 119
7. Donald Payne Stetson 4 6 13 9 10 111
8. Peter Pujals Holy Cross 3 9 7 13 7 105
9. Tarik Cohen N. Carolina A&T 4 4 6 4 10 72
10. Marquis Smith Savannah St. 2 4 5 9 9 68
11. Matt Johnson Charlotte 4 6 3 3 6 65
12. Kourtney Berry Alabama St. 2 5 6 2 7 59
13. Gage Steele James Madison 1 6 5 4 6 58
14. Drew Reed Lafayette 2 3 5 4 3 48
15. Dillon Buechel Duquesne 2 3 4 0 4 38
16. Jatavious Wilson C. Arkansas 0 1 1 7 3 24
T17. Bentlee Critcher Appalach St. 1 0 0 3 6 17
T17. C.J. Williams Bucknell 0 2 1 1 4 17
19. Austin Black SE Missouri St. 0 0 1 1 7 12
T20. Javancy Jones Jackson St. 0 0 1 1 1 6
T20. Lawrence Forbes Morgan St. 0 0 0 2 2 6

FCS Football News
· In the FCS Huddle: EWU makes them see red

· In the FCS Huddle: 2014 Big South Preview

· In the FCS Huddle: 2014 MEAC Preview

More News

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.