Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Montana State's Schreibeis wins 2012 Buck Buchanan Award

Bobcats' defensive end honored as most outstanding defensive player in FCS college football

Caleb Schreibeis finished with 319 points to secure the award.

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Montana State University defensive end Caleb Schreibeis never could have imagined the type of impact he would have for the Bobcats.

After all, he joined the squad as a walk-on who was hoping to see the field as a special teams player.

But Monday night, the Billings, Mont., native with deep Bobcats ties was named the 18th recipient of the Buck Buchanan Award, which honors the outstanding defensive player in the Football Championship Subdivision. He received almost double the amount of first-place votes as the runner-up - 35 versus 18 - and finished with 319 points to secure the award over Appalachian State senior linebacker Jeremy Kimbrough (287) and Arkansas-Pine Bluff senior defensive end Brandon Thurmond (232).

Schreibeis followed in the footsteps of his brother Joe, a former Montana State tight end and team captain. He displayed great leadership for the Bobcats as a team captain as well, providing consistency and improvement individually.

In the regular season, Schreibeis registered 51 tackles and ranked first on his team in tackles for loss (14.5), sacks (12), quarterback hurries (seven) and forced fumbles (seven). The Bobcats won a share of their third straight Big Sky Conference title and advanced to the FCS playoffs for the third straight season.

Including two playoff games, Schreibeis upped his season totals to 59 tackles, including 24 solos, 15 tackles for loss, 12.5 sacks, seven quarterback hurries, four pass breakups and eight forced fumbles. The Bobcats had an 11-2 record.

"When plays came my way, it was great, but it was also working toward the goals of the defense and the team," Schreibeis said. "So really, plays came my way and I had opportunities to make plays, but it's the same for a lot of these other guys on the team."

Schreibeis became so effective as a pass rusher during his senior season that he collected at least a half sack in all 10 of his regular-season games and forced at least one fumble in all but four regular-season contests.

"Individually, I guess I never would have thought I would be here," Schreibeis said. "But I'm so thankful and blessed. I can't say that enough, how blessed I am just to be here."

There were 145 ballots cast in the Buck Buchanan Award voting. The results:

2012 Buck Buchanan Award Voting
Name School 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
1. Caleb Schreibeis Montana State351814912319
2. Jeremy Kimbrough Appalachian State1825201213287
3. Brandon Thurmond Arkansas-Pine Bluff201681514232
4. Robert McCabe Georgetown1614141314218
5. Matt Evans New Hampshire1313101015182
6. Colton Underwood Illinois State9913199167
7. Jaquiski Tartt Samford31271412124
8. Stephon Robertson James Madison487108101
9. Marcus Williams North Dakota State64123896
10. Jordan Tripp Montana366101188
11. Joseph LeBeau Jackson State5299583
12. Blake Peiffer SE Missouri State3475567
13. Cooper Taylor Richmond5155761
14. Darnell Taylor Sam Houston State2652356
15. Brent Russell Georgia Southern0532235
16. Demetrius McCray Appalachian State2201121
17. B.W. Webb William & Mary1012416
18. Robert Alford SE Louisiana0033015
19. Wes Dothard Chattanooga001025
20. Tyler Starr South Dakota000102


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com