Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
New Hampshire's Matt Evans is Buck Buchanan Award winner

New Hampshire's linebacker honored as most outstanding defensive player in FCS college football

Matt Evans led the FCS with 154 tackles and 88 solo stops.

Frisco, TX (Sports Network) - New Hampshire junior linebacker Matt Evans kept busy throughout the entire regular season, leading the Football Championship Subdivision with 154 tackles and 88 solo stops.

Friday night, Evans was rewarded for all his stops as he was named the 2011 Buck Buchanan Award winner, which honors the outstanding defensive player in the FCS, is presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by Fathead.com.

"It was really something I didn't expect," Evans said. "It's a huge honor to be a part of that prestigious group."

The second player from CAA Football to win the award, Evans appeared on 113 of the 132 ballots and received 45 first-place votes, edging out Northern Iowa senior linebacker L.J. Fort.

Before the season, Evans never set his sights on individual awards.

"I just try, and want to be, the best player I can be," he said. "If I play well and get those honors, that is just added incentive. Obviously, it means more to me for the team to have a better season."

In addition to leading the nation in total tackles and solo stops, Evans posted double-digit tackles in 10 of New Hampshire's 11 regular-season games. He also snagged a pair of interceptions (one for a touchdown), forced three fumbles and registered six tackles for loss.

"Matt is one of those kids who is a very instinctive football player," New Hampshire coach Sean McDonnell said. "He's not a huge linebacker, he weighs about 215, 220 pounds soaking wet. He's got great speed, he's got great athleticism and he tackles very well. But, the thing that Matty does is he understands how people are attacking. He also knows how to get there, and gets around blocks."

The instincts that Evans, who is officially listed at 6 feet, 227 pounds, showed this season, have been refined since he started playing football at a young age in Hanover, Mass.

Those instincts received an upgrade the past three seasons, as the Wildcats defense went head-to-head in practice with one of the best offenses in the nation.

"Our offense is definitely one of the best in the country," Evans said. "It's always been that way, at least since I got here. But, it's helped with the change on defense, we've gotten much better since I've been here."

2011 Buck Buchanan Award Voting
Name School 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
Matt EvansNew Hampshire453615116442
L.J. FortNorthern Iowa31312268365
Adrian HamiltonPrairie View3217171012311
Andrew SchaetzkeGeorgetown43141310110
Kejuan RileyAlabama State18101511108
Brent RussellGeorgia Southern610657105
Keith PoughHoward174101479
Ben ObasekiIndiana State14671063
Ben BoothbyNorthern Iowa3562461
Zack NashSacramento State1339852
Tyler HolmesMassachusetts01710752
Kadarron AndersonFurman2266351
A.J. StormsIdaho State0047733
Justin BehtelPresbyterian1034729
Asa JacksonCal Poly2023628
Trumaine JohnsonMontana0224123
Jeremy CaldwellE. Kentucky1003112
Ryan SteedFurman0101410
Josh NormanCostal Carolina010048
Derek RoseNorthwestern State001207
*Bryce RobertsonBucknell001116
*Blake OliaroSan Diego100005
*Josue OrtizHarvard001105
*Ryan DavisBethune-Cookman010004
Wes DothardChattanooga001003
*Corey HartAlabama A&M001003
*Ronnie CameronOld Dominion000102
*Marcus WilliamsN. Dakota State000102
*Joseph LeBeauJackson State000011
* - Write-in Votes.


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com