Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Jeremy Moses wins 2010 Walter Payton Award

Stephen F. Austin quarterback honored as the most outstanding player in FCS college football

Jeremy Moses secured more than two times as many first-place votes as any other candidate.
Frisco, TX (Sports Network) - Jeremy Moses' record-setting passing ability often separated Stephen F. Austin from opposing teams.

Thursday night, the senior quarterback separated himself in the 2010 Walter Payton Award balloting, securing more than two times as many first-place votes as any other candidate, while becoming the 24th annual winner of the Football Championship Subdivision's most prestigious award as the national player of the year. The Sports Network presents and Fathead.com sponsors the Payton Award.

Moses gained 37 of the 130 first-place votes and finished with 372 points.

Quarterbacks Matt Barr of Western Illinois and DeAndre Presley of Appalachian State, who also were on hand at the FCS awards presentation, finished second and third, respectively, with 262 and 182 points.

During the regular season, the 6-foot, 195-pound Moses led the FCS in pass attempts (499), completions (303), touchdown passes (34) and passing yards (3,658), yet threw only four interceptions. He helped lead the Lumberjacks to the Southland Conference title and into the playoffs for a second straight season. They lost in the second round and finished with a 9-3 record.

"It's a huge team effort," Moses said. "In this offense, you have to have 11 guys on the same page. When you're not, bad things happen. All my success, I credit to my teammates. And I'll continue to do that 'til I die. I'd be nowhere without the guys I played with."

Moses, who was seventh in last season's Payton Award voting, is the first Southland Conference player to win the award. In 1989, SFA quarterback Todd Hammel was the runner-up.

Over his four-year career, Moses completed an FCS-record 1,184 passes (on 1,893 attempts) for 13,401 yards and 121 touchdowns. He averaged 304.6 passing yards in his 44 games.

"What we do isn't very complicated," Moses said. "Our play-calling into certain coverages has gotten really simple. We know what we're looking for on the defensive side of the ball and we know what plays we want to run against it. That comes with a lot of film study and experience."

Barr, a 6-2, 210-pound senior, was the Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Player of the Year. During the regular season, he completed 216- of-358 pass attempts (60.3 percent) for 3,312 yards and 26 touchdowns with only seven interceptions, while rushing for 452 yards and seven touchdowns.

Presley, a 5-11, 170-pound junior, helped Appalachian State to a share of its sixth straight Southern Conference title and the No. 1 seed for the playoffs.

During the regular season, the SoCon Offensive Player of the Year completed 177-of-280 pass attempts (63.2 percent) for 2,223 yards and 18 touchdowns against only four interceptions, while rushing for 753 yards and 11 touchdowns.

The Payton Award was voted on by a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries. Other finalists on the ballot were quarterbacks Mike Brown of Liberty, Pat Devlin of Delaware, Denarius McGhee of Montana State, Scott Riddle of Elon, Casey Therriault of Jackson State, Steve Valentino of Dayton and Chris Whitney of Villanova; running backs Nate Eachus of Colgate, Chris Evans of Samford, Henry Harris of Southeast Missouri State, Taiwan Jones of Eastern Washington, Kyle Minett of South Dakota State, Chase Reynolds of Montana and Frank Warren of Grambling State; wide receiver Tysson Poots of Southern Utah and Raymond Webber of Arkansas-Pine Bluff; and offensive tackle Ben Ijalana of Villanova.

The ballot had two players who gained write-in votes, Wofford fullback Eric Breitenstein and Murray State wide receiver Marcus Harris.

In addition to Moses winning the Payton Award at the national awards presentation, Eastern Washington senior linebacker J.C. Sherritt captured the Buck Buchanan Award, which is given to the FCS' outstanding defensive player, and Southeast Missouri State's Tony Samuel won the Eddie Robinson Award, which honors the FCS' coach of the year. The Sports Network presents and Fathead.com also sponsors those two awards.

2010 Walter Payton Award Voting
Name School 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
Jeremy Moses Stephen F. Austin372417176 372
Matt BarrWestern Illinois 1721171316262
DeAndre PresleyAppalachian State 131312813182
Taiwan Jones Eastern Washington11128194169
Henry Harris SE Missouri State1110101010155
Nate EachusColgate 69121414144
Denarius McGheeMontana State5775892
Raymond Webber Arkansas-Pine Bluff28591186
Casey Therriault Jackson State37112585
Ben Ijalana Villanova34671275
Mike Brown Liberty3468469
Pat Devlin Delaware55321068
Scott RiddleElon 2185654
Chris WhitneyVillanova 2047238
Tyson Poots Southern Utah6100337
Frank WarrenGrambling State 4120131
Chris EvansSamford 011029
Kyle MinettSouth Dakota State001218
*Eric Breitenstein Wofford01010 6
Chase Reynolds Montana010004
Steve ValentinoDayton 000113
*Marcus HarrisMurray State 000011
* - Write-in votes.

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com