Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Armanti Edwards wins 2009 Walter Payton Award

Appalachian State quarterback honored as the most outstanding player in FCS college football

Armanti Edwards became the first player to capture the award in back-to-back seasons and the first two-time winner of the Payton Award.
Chattanooga, TN (Sports Network) - Appalachian State quarterback Armanti Edwards was named the 23rd winner of the Walter Payton Award Thursday night at The Sports Network's Football Championship Subdivision Awards Banquet, held at the Chattanooga Convention Center on the eve of the NCAA Division I Football Championship title game.

Edwards became the first player to capture the award in back-to-back seasons and the first two-time winner of the Payton Award. Appalachian State linebacker Dexter Coakley, who won the first two Buck Buchanan Awards in 1995-96 and James Madison coach Mickey Matthews, who won the Eddie Robinson Award in 1999 and again in 2008, are the only other two-time award winners at the FCS level.

The Payton Award, named for the legendary Jackson State and Chicago Bears running back, is presented annually to the top player in FCS.

"It is a great honor to win it again," said Edwards. "But I wouldn't have done any of this without the help of my teammates."

The 6-foot-tall, 185-pound senior signal-caller became the first quarterback in NCAA history to pass for more than 10,000 yards and rush for over 4,000 yards in his career. He ranked third nationally in total offense and fifth in passing efficiency in the regular season, and finished with 3,291 yards passing and 679 yards rushing, with 30 combined touchdowns for 2009.

For his career, Edwards finished with 14,753 yards of total offense, ranking him second on the all-time list behind Alcorn State great Steve McNair.

Edwards missed the first game of the year after a lawn mower badly lacerated his right foot at the beginning of training camp and required 35 stitches to close. He also sat out the final game of the regular season with an ACL strain.

The multi-talented quarterback led Appalachian State to its fifth consecutive Southern Conference title and playoff berth and had over 400 yards of total offense three times and over 300 yards seven times during the regular season.

For the second year in a row, Edwards finished first by a landslide, with 55 first-place votes and 431 points. Terrell Hudgins of Elon became the highest-placing receiver since Villanova's Brian Finneran won the award in 1997, finishing second with 268 points, just ahead of Southern Illinois running back Deji Karim.

The Walter Payton Award was established in 1987 by The Sports Network and previous winners of the honor include current NFL players such as Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo (2002, Eastern Illinois), Philadelphia Eagles running back Brian Westbrook (2001, Villanova), and former Tennessee Titans and Baltimore Ravens quarterback Steve McNair (1994, Alcorn State).

2009 Walter Payton Award Voting
Name School 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
Armanti Edwards Appalachian State551620136431
Terrell Hudgins Elon1619162612268
Deji Karim Southern Illinois142119208259
Matt Nichols Eastern Washington121691213188
Dominic Randolph Holy Cross81614812174
Ryan Perrilloux Jacksonville State9911518142
Jeremy Moses Stephen F. Austin479138109
William Ford South Carolina State3322239
Michael Herrick Northern Arizona1233331
Cameron Higgins Weber State0332530
Toddrick Penland McNeese State0242529
Curtis Pulley Florida A&M0233326
Chase Reynolds Montana0133524
Bryant Lee Southern2022020
Pat Grace Northern Iowa0221218
David Sinisi Monmouth0013817
Pat Devlin Delaware1110416
Andre Roberts The Citadel0102513
Trevyn Smith Weber State0210112
James Mallory Central Connecticut St.0004210
*Matt Szczur Villanova020019
*Eric Ward Richmond001116
*Scott Riddle Elon001003
*Tim Toone Weber State000011
* - Write-in votes.

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com