Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Kroy Biermann captures 2007 Buck Buchanan Award

Montana defensive end honored as most outstanding defensive player in FCS college football

Kroy Biermann
Kroy Biermann finished second nationally with 16 sacks, and was 24th with 18.5 tackles for loss.
Chattanooga, TN (Sports Network) - Montana defensive end Kroy Biermann was named the 13th winner of the Buck Buchanan Award at the Sports Network FCS Awards Dinner, held on the eve of the NCAA Division I Football Championship. The Buchanan Award, named for the legendary Grambling and Kansas City Chiefs defensive tackle, is presented annually to the top defensive player in FCS.

"Obviously, it is an amazing feeling to be recognized for such a prestigious award," said Biermann. "To be chosen as the top defensive player in the FCS is truly a great experience. I think some of the credit should go to my coaches, my teammates, and to my University. To get the opportunity to be a part of the Montana Grizzly football program is something I am very thankful for and will cherish the rest of my life."

Biermann finished second nationally with 16 sacks, and was 24th with 18.5 tackles for loss. He had 70 total tackles, 34 solo stops, five forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries, two blocked kicks and one pass break-up.

The 6-3, 241-pound senior defensive lineman helped his team to an 11-0 record and a Big Sky Conference championship during the regular season. The Grizzlies were seeded No. 3 in the playoffs, but fell, 23-22, to Wofford in the first round.

With Biermann as the leader, Montana finished second nationally in scoring defense (14.8 points per game), and 21st in rushing defense (125 yards per game).

The Hardin, MT native finished his career with 33 sacks, 46 tackles for loss, nine forced fumbles, and seven fumble recoveries for a team that went 43-10 and won a share of four consecutive Big Sky titles during his time with the program.

Biermann received 35 first-place votes and 305 points to edge Appalachian State free safety Corey Lynch by five points in the closest Buchanan Award voting in history. Lynch also received 35 first-place votes out of the 105 ballots cast by a panel of sports information directors and selected media. McNeese State defensive end Bryan Smith was third in the voting with 205 points.

The Buck Buchanan Award was established in 1995 by The Sports Network. Past winners of the honor include current NFL standouts such as Kansas City Chiefs defensive end Jared Allen (2003, Idaho State), Jacksonville Jaguars safety Rashean Mathis (2002, Bethune-Cookman), along with former Dallas Cowboys Pro Bowl linebacker Dexter Coakley (1995-96, Appalachian State).

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com