Northeast Conference Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Sites: All games played at home of higher seed
Dates: Wednesday, March 4th through Tuesday, March 10th
Annual: 34th
Defending Champion: Mount St. Mary's def. Robert Morris, 88-71
Television: MSG/FCS (Semifinals), ESPN2 (Championship Game)
Wednesday, March 4th - Quarterfinal Round
St. Francis (NY) 79, (8) Long Island (12-18) 70
Robert Morris 91, (7) Wagner (10-20) 68
Bryant 91, (6) Sacred Heart (15-17) 85 2OT
Saint Francis (PA) 73, (4) Mount St. Mary's (15-15) 58
Saturday, March 7th - Semifinal Round
Robert Morris 66, (3) Bryant (16-15) 53
Saint Francis (NY) 62, (5) Saint Francis (PA) (16-15) 48
Tuesday, March 10th - Championship Game
(2) Robert Morris (19-14) 66, (1) Saint Francis (NY) (23-11) 63
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 Robert Morris72010 36-23  
 Long Island52013 30-21  
 Fairleigh Dickinson42005 27-23  
 Mount St. Mary's42014 23-14  
 Central Conn State32007 15-13  
 Wagner12003 18-25  
 St. Francis (PA)11991 7-19  
 St. Francis (NY)0 10-25  
 Sacred Heart0 5-6  
 Bryant0 0-2  
Past NEC Tournament Winners, Results and Most Valuable Players
2015Robert Morris def. Saint Francis (NY) (Rodney Pryor)
2014Mount St. Mary's def. Robert Morris, 88-71 (Rashad Whack)
2013Long Island def. Mount St. Mary's, 91-70 (C.J. Garner)
2012Long Island def. Robert Morris, 90-73 (Julian Boyd)
2011Long Island def. Robert Morris, 85-82 (OT) (Jamal Olasewere)
2010Robert Morris def. Quinnipiac, 52-50 (Karon Abraham)
2009Robert Morris def. Mount St. Mary's, 48-46 (Jeremy Chappell)
2008Mount St. Mary's def. Sacred Heart, 68-55 (Jean Cajou)
2007Central Connecticut State def. Sacred Heart, 74-70 (Javier Mojica)
2006Monmouth def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 49-48 (Marques Alston)
2005Fairleigh Dickinson def. Wagner, 58-52 (Tamien Trent)
2004Monmouth def. Central Connecticut State, 67-55 (Blake Hamilton)
2003Wagner def. St. Francis (NY), 78-61 (Jermaine Hall)
2002Central Connecticut State def. Quinnipiac, 78-71 (Damian Battles)
2001Monmouth def. St. Francis (NY), 67-64 (Rahsaan Johnson)
2000Central Connecticut State def. Robert Morris, 63-46 (Rick Mickens)
1999Mount St. Mary's def. Central Connecticut St, 72-56 (Gregory Harris)
1998Fairleigh Dickinson def. Long Island, 105-91 (Rahshon Turner)
1997Long Island def. Monmouth, 72-67 (Charlie Jones)
1996Monmouth def. Rider, 60-59 (Corey Albano)
1995Mount St. Mary's def. Rider, 69-62 (Silas Cheung)
1994Rider def. Monmouth, 62-56 (Charles Smith)
1993Rider def. Wagner, 65-64 (Darrick Suber)
1992Robert Morris def. Marist, 85-81 (Myron Walker)
1991St. Francis (PA) def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 97-82 (Mike Luzzolino)
1990Robert Morris def. Monmouth, 71-66 (Alex Blackwell)
1989Robert Morris def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 67-66 (Vaughn Luton)
1988Fairleigh Dickinson def. Monmouth, 90-75 (Jaime Latney)
1987Marist def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 64-55 (Drafton Davis)
1986Marist def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 57-56 (Rik Smits)
1985Fairleigh Dickinson def. Loyola-MD, 63-59 (Larry Hampton)
1984Long Island def. Robert Morris, 87-81 (Carey Scurry)
1983Robert Morris def. Long Island, 79-67 (Chipper Harris)
1982Robert Morris def. Long Island, 85-84 (Tom Parks)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. The top eight teams qualify for the tournament. All tournament games will be played at the home of the higher seed. After the quarterfinals, the teams will be re-seeded so the highest remaining seed plays the lowest remaining seed in the semifinals. Monmouth won this tournament four times (1996, 2001, 04, 06), Rider (1993-94) and Marist (1986-87) twice when they were members of the conference. Last year, fourth-seeded Mount St. Mary's defeated top-seeded Robert Morris, 88-71, to win the championship for the fourth time. Mount St. Mary's lost to Albany, 71-64, in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. Robert Morris has played in the championship game five of the last six years, winning in 2009-10. Long Island is the only team to win this championship three straight seasons (2011-13).

03/11 08:06:25 ET

As of March 11, 2015, at 08:06 AM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |