IndyCar Series - Grand Prix of Baltimore Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, September 2nd
SITE: Streets of Baltimore -- Baltimore, Maryland
TRACK: 2.4-mile, 12-turn temporary street circuit
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
ANNOUNCERS: Bob Jenkins, Jon Beekhuis, Wally Dallenbach
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 2:30 p.m. (ET)
POLE WINNER: Will Power (Finished 1st)
LAPS: 75
MILES: 180
QUALIFYING RECORD: Will Power, 2011 (91.746 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Will Power, 2011 (75.046 m.p.h.)
2011 Finish
1Will Power16Danica Patrick23
2Oriol Servia147Alex Tagliani19
3Tony Kanaan278Ryan Hunter-Reay6
4Dario Franchitti49Vitor Meira12
5Scott Dixon910Graham Rahal2
2011 Grand Prix of Baltimore Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 75.046 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 2 minutes, 19.4998 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 10.2096 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 2 for 16 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 5 driver
POLE WINNER: Will Power (91.520 m.p.h.)
FASTEST LAP: Will Power, 90.001 m.p.h., Lap 9
Past Grand Prix of Baltimore Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Will Power (1st) -- Dallara-Honda -- 92.194 m.p.h.
Past Grand Prix of Baltimore Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Will Power -- 1st
Last Race Results
RACE: GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma (August 28th)
SITE: Sonoma Raceway -- Sonoma, California
MILES: 196.35
LAPS: 85
WINNER: Ryan Briscoe
RUNNER-UP: Will Power
THIRD: Dario Franchitti
FOURTH: Rubens Barrichello
FIFTH: Graham Rahal
POLE WINNER: Will Power (Finished 2nd)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 7 minutes, 2.8248 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 95.740 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.4408 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 2 for 11 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 3 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Will Power 1-17; Ryan Briscoe 18-19; Ryan Hunter-Reay 20; Power
21-40; Briscoe 41-43; Power 44-63; Briscoe 64-85.
Grand Prix of Baltimore Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Hitachi/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brz)Penske Truck Rental/Team Penske
4J.R. Hildebrand (Sausalito, CA)U.S. National Guard/Panther Racing
5E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)Citgo/PDVSA/KV Racing Technology
7Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans,France)McAfee/Bing/Truecar/Dragon Racing
8Rubens Barrichello (Sao Paulo, Brz)BMC/Embrase/KV Racing Technology
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Scotland)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)GEICO/KV Racing Technology
12 *Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Mike Conway (Bromley, England)ABC Supply Co./AJ Foyt Enterprises
15Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
18Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Sonny's Bar B-Q/Dale Coyne Racing
19Jamie Jakes (Leeds, England)Boy Scouts America/Dale Coyne Racing
20Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN)Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing
22Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain)Panther/Dreyer & Reinbold
26Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Dr. Pepper/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Autosport
28Ryan Hunter-Reay (Boca Raton, FL)DHL/Sun Drop/Andretti Autosport
38Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Service Central/Chip Ganassi Racing
67Bruno Junqueira (Belo Horizonte, Brz)Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Poitiers, France)Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports
78Simona de Silvestro (Switzerland)Nuclear Clean Air Energy/Lotus-HVM
83Giorgio Pantano (Padua, Italy)NovoRapid Flex/Chip Ganassi Racing
98Alex Tagliani (Lachenaie, Canada)Team Barracuda/Bryan Herta Autosport
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish last year)
Will PowerWon
Oriol Servia2nd
Tony Kanaan3rd
Dario Franchitti4th
Scott Dixon5th
Alex Tagliani7th
Ryan Hunter-Reay8th
Graham Rahal10th
Ryan Briscoe14th
Helio Castroneves17th
J.R. Hildebrand19th
Mike Conway23rd
James Hinchcliffe24th
Marco Andretti25th
Rubens Barrichello---
Simon Pagenaud---
Mover of the Week
James Jakes - Started in the 24th position and finished 12th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Will Power
Darkhorse - Mike Conway
Last Week's Pick to Win (Will Power) - Finished 2nd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Marco Andretti) - Finished 25th
With two races to go, Will Power is in the driver's seat to win this year's IZOD IndyCar Series championship.

Power, who made his 100th career IndyCar start, finished second in last weekend's race at Sonoma. His Team Penske teammate, Ryan Briscoe, claimed his first win in the series since June 2010 at Texas Motor Speedway. Power, however, increased his lead in the points standings, as the other top championship contenders struggled on the Northern California road course.

Power's closest competitor, Ryan Hunter-Reay, who started the race just five points back, fell 36 behind after placing 18th. In addition, Helio Castroneves placed sixth and dropped 41 points out of the lead.

There are eight drivers still mathematically eligible for the series title: Power, Hunter-Reay, Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud, Tony Kanaan, James Hinchcliffe and Briscoe.

Power won last year's inaugural Baltimore Grand Prix. He ran a near-perfect race through the streets of downtown Baltimore. Power started on the pole and led 70 of 75 laps, as he crossed the finish line more than 10 seconds ahead of runner-up Oriol Servia.

The 2.4-mile, 12-turn temporary street circuit incorporates two downtown Baltimore landmarks -- the Inner Harbor and Oriole Park at Camden Yards -- and features a hairpin turn, a chicane and a long straight leading into a hard right into Turn 1 on Pratt Street which has been widened.

"Dancing with the Stars" contestant and Baltimore-native Mario will perform the National Anthem for Sunday's race.

The 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season concludes on Sept. 15 with the MAVTV 500 IndyCar World Championships at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif. Dario Franchitti most recently won there in 2005.

08/29 13:12:08 ET

As of August 29, 2012, at 01:12 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |