IZOD IndyCar Series - Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, August 5th
SITE: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (1962) -- Lexington, Ohio
TRACK: 2.258-mile, 13-turn road course
ANNOUNCERS: Marty Reid, Scott Goodyear, Eddie Cheever
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Radio
START TIME: 1 p.m. (ET)
RUNNER-UP: Dario Franchitti
POLE WINNER: Scott Dixon (Finished 1st)
LAPS: 85
MILES: 191.25
QUALIFYING RECORD: Scott Dixon, 2009 (121.927 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Scott Dixon, 2009 (108.541 m.p.h.)
2011 Finish
1Scott Dixon16Alex Tagliani8
2Dario Franchitti37Marco Andretti19
3Ryan Hunter-Reay58Oriol Servia20
4Takuma Sato99Sebastien Bourdais11
5Tony Kanaan1610Vitor Meira21
2011 Honda Indy 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 105.861 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 48 minutes, 46.9509 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 7.6508 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 2 for 9 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 5 drivers
POLE WINNER: Scott Dixon (119.405 m.p.h.)
FASTEST LAP: Scott Dixon, 117.592 m.p.h., Lap 76
Past Honda Indy 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Scott Dixon (1st) -- Dallara-Honda -- 105.861 m.p.h.
2010 -- Dario Franchitti (2nd) -- Dallara-Honda -- 100.542 m.p.h.
2009 -- Scott Dixon (3rd) -- Dallara-Honda -- 108.541 m.p.h. (race record)
2008 -- Ryan Briscoe (2nd) -- Dallara-Honda -- 94.873 m.p.h.
2007 -- Scott Dixon (6th) -- Dallara-Honda -- 107.222 m.p.h.
Past Honda Indy 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Scott Dixon -- 1st
2010 -- Will Power -- 2nd
2009 -- Ryan Briscoe -- 2nd
2008 -- Helio Castroneves -- 2nd
2007 -- Helio Castroneves -- 3rd
Last Race Results
RACE: Edmonton Indy (July 22nd)
SITE: Edmonton City Centre Airport -- Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
MILES: 166.8
LAPS: 75
WINNER: Helio Castroneves
RUNNER-UP: Takuma Sato
THIRD: Will Power
FOURTH: Graham Rahal
FIFTH: Alex Tagliani
POLE WINNER: Ryan Hunter-Reay (Finished 7th)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 38 minutes, 50.9294 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.8367 second
AVERAGE SPEED: 101.246 m.p.h.
LEAD CHANGES: 5 among 4 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Dario Franchitti - pole; Alex Tagliani 1-25; Ryan Briscoe 26;
Will Power 27; Tagliani 28-51; Power 52-53; Helio Castroneves
Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Hitachi/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brz)Penske Truck Rental/Team Penske
4J.R. Hildebrand (Sausalito, CA)U.S. National Guard/Panther Racing
5E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)Citgo/PDVSA/KV Racing Technology
7Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans,France)TrueCar/Dragon Racing
8Rubens Barrichello (Sao Paulo, Brz)BMC/Embrase/KV Racing Technology
9 *Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Scotland)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)GEICO/KV Racing Technology
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Mike Conway (Bromley, England)ABC Supply Co./AJ Foyt Enterprises
15Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
18Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Sonny's Bar B-Q/Dale Coyne Racing
19Jamie Jakes (Leeds, England)Boy Scouts America/Dale Coyne Racing
20Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN)Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing
22Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain)Panther/Dreyer & Reinbold
26Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Dr. Pepper/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada)GoDaddy.com/Andretti Autosport
28Ryan Hunter-Reay (Boca Raton, FL)DHL/Sun Drop/Andretti Autosport
38Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Service Central/Chip Ganassi Racing
67Josef Newgarden (Nashville, TN)Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Poitiers, France)Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports
78Simona de Silvestro (Switzerland)Nuclear Clean Air Energy/Lotus-HVM
83Giorgio Pantano (Padua, Italy)NovoRapid Flex/Chip Ganassi Racing
98Alex Tagliani (Lachenaie, Canada)Team Barracuda/Bryan Herta Autosport
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last five years)
Scott DixonWon3rdWon5thWon
Dario Franchitti2nd---3rdWon2nd
Ryan Hunter-Reay7th10th4th10th3rd
Takuma Sato---------25th4th
Tony Kanaan4th7th10th17th5th
Alex Tagliani---------4th6th
Marco Andretti18th25th6th9th7th
Oriol Servia---5th11th---8th
Simon Pagenaud------------13th
Will Power---4th---2nd14th
Ryan Briscoe---Won2nd6th16th
Helio Castroneves3rd2nd12th3rd19th
James Hinchcliffe------------20th
Graham Rahal---16th8th20th24th
Justin Wilson---11th13th27th---
Rubens Barrichello---------------
Mover of the Week
Will Power - Started 17th on the grid and finished 3rd
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Scott Dixon
Darkhorse - Ryan Briscoe
Last Week's Pick to Win (Will Power) - Finished 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Graham Rahal) - Finished 4th
After running its last two races in Canada, the IZOD IndyCar Series returns to the United States with this weekend's Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio. Just four races remain on the IndyCar schedule, as Ryan Hunter-Reay leads Helio Castroneves by 23 points.

Last year, Scott Dixon won this race at Mid-Ohio for the third time, as he easily defeated his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Dario Franchitti by 7.7 seconds. Dixon started on the pole and led the opening 23 laps and then the final 25 circuits to claim the victory. He became the first driver to win this race from the pole.

In 2010, Franchitti held off a furious late-race charge from Will Power to win at Mid-Ohio. Franchitti crossed the line a half-second ahead of Power. He is the only driver to win this race and go on to capture the series championship.

In 2009, Scott Dixon led the final 49 laps and easily beat runner-up Ryan Briscoe by nearly 30 seconds for his fourth win of the season and the 20th of his IndyCar career. Dixon passed Justin Wilson during the mid-stages of the race and then benefited from a quick pit stop to dominate late in the race. Wilson trailed him by six seconds but ran out of fuel, as he coasted onto pit road and then stalled while attempting to exit his pit stall.

In 2008, Ryan Briscoe won for the second time in his IndyCar career, as he defeated Helio Castroneves by 7.2640 seconds. Castroneves started on the pole and led the first five laps, but Vitor Meira claimed the lead on sixth lap. Several drivers exchanged the lead over the next 33 laps, but Briscoe took command on lap 60, en route to the win. Briscoe led for a race-high 43 laps. Only three drivers failed to finish the race, while 15 cars finished on the final lap.

Castroneves had been the pole sitter for the first two races at Mid-Ohio but has yet to win there. He has finished 3rd, 2nd, 12th, 3rd and 19th, respectively. Castroneves has moved into championship contention this year after winning the IndyCar race in Edmonton. After three consecutive sixth- place finishes, Castroneves won for the second time in 2012 and first since the opening race of the season. His 21 career wins ties Franchitti for second- place on the all-time list, six behind Scott Dixon.

In 2007, Dixon won the inaugural Honda Indy 200, as he capitalized on a late- race pit strategy by taking the checkered flag. On lap 70, Castroneves gave up the top spot to take his last pit stop. Dixon crossed the finish line 2.6917 seconds ahead of Dario Franchitti for his third consecutive victory of that season. Dixon had won at Nashville and Watkins Glen prior to Mid-Ohio.

The next IZOD IndyCar Series race is the August 26 Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma at road course in Sonoma, CA. Will Power won last year's race there.

08/01 16:47:59 ET

As of August 1, 2012, at 04:48 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com