Race-Day Info:
Auto Racing Extras
More Auto Racing

Indy 500 starting field completed with nine added

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - The nine starting positions that remained for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500 were determined on Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Less than 24 hours after wrecking their cars during the first day of qualifying (Pole Day), Ed Carpenter, rookie Bryan Clauson and Oriol Servia managed to have their cars repaired in time to make another qualifying effort on Bump Day.

Carpenter, who won his first IndyCar race last October at Kansas, had his backup car prepared in time to participate in the morning practice session for the nine non-qualified teams.

"This team did a great job getting this 20T car together," Carpenter said. "We went a little consecutive with the qualifying run, just so we can get in the show. The whole crew just put their heads down began preparing the back up at around 4 p.m. Saturday. No complaining; just a bunch of professional guys."

Carpenter's four-lap average of 222.324 mph earned him the inside of row 10 (28th starting spot) for next Sunday's 500-mile race at Indianapolis. Mike Conway and rookie Katherine Legge will share that row with him.

Sebastien Bourdais, who was bumped from the top-24 qualifiers on Pole Day, was the fastest qualifier on Bump Day with a four-lap average of 223.760 mph. Wade Cunningham and Servia will join Bourdais on the ninth row.

"The run was good," Bourdais said. "I just wish it had been yesterday, and we'd be quite a bit higher up on the grid."

Making up the 11th and final row will be: Clauson (31st starting position), Simona de Silvestro (32nd) and rookie Jean Alesi (33rd).

"Obviously, when you have a run like we did yesterday at 223 and a half or so and come back today and go run that, you're not excited," Clauson said. "But it's a product of just needing to get four laps in and putting something that was safe on the car and making sure we didn't have another incident like we did yesterday."

Ryan Briscoe from Team Penske won the Indianapolis 500 pole for the first time in his career on Saturday with a four-lap average of 226.484 mph. Andretti Autosport teammates James Hinchcliffe and Ryan Hunter-Reay will share the front row with Briscoe.

05/20 19:21:57 ET

Indy Car News
· Pagenaud to drive fourth entry for Team Penske in 2015

· Power claims first IndyCar title, Kanaan wins at Fontana

· IndyCar driver Aleshin injured during practice crash at Fontana

More News
IndyCar Series