=== Shackleford makes final start in Clark Handicap ===
 Louisville,  KY  (Sports Network) -  Former Preakness Stakes champ Shackleford
 will  break  from the starting  gate for the last  time Friday in the $400,000
 Clark  Handicap at  Churchill Downs. The 4-year-old colt will face nine in the
 1 1/8-mile stakes.
 Trained  by  Dale Romans,  Shackleford will  be ridden one  last time by Jesus
 Castanon  who  guided the colt  to victory in the  middle jewel of last year's
 Triple  Crown. The pair will break from post three for owners Michael Lauffer,
 Bill Cubbedge and Phillips Racing Partnership.
 "We  want to run on a nice, fast racetrack. He loves it here (Churchill Downs)
 and always runs well here," noted Lauffer.
 Shackleford  is  coming off a  seventh-place finish  in the Breeders' Cup Dirt
 Mile  as the  5-2 co-favorite.  Last year  he was  second in  the race  behind
 Caleb's  Posse. This  year, Shackleford has wins in the Churchill Downs Stakes
 and Met Mile.
 Shackleford has posted five wins in 19 career starts for $2,824,047  with five
 seconds and a third.
 The 4-year-old will be retired to stud at Darby Dan Farm where he recently was
 on display for potential breeders.
 Starting  from  post six will be  this year's Florida Derby winner Take Charge
 Indy.  The 3-year-old colt, trained by Patrick Byrne, will be ridden by Calvin
 "He  got  so much out of  (the Fayette)," Byrne said.  "I bet he's five or six
 lengths  better (now). I was so apprehensive going into the Fayette off a six-
 month layoff, but I could only train him so much. He nearly pulled it off."
 Owned  by Chuck  and Maribeth  Sandford,  Take Charge  Indy was  third in  the
 Fayette  Stakes at Keeneland last month behind Newsdad. It was his first start
 since finishing 19th in the Kentucky Derby.
 The colt has banked $736,000 off two wins in eight career starts.
 Joining  Shackleford in  making a  final  career start  is Mission  Impazible.
 Trained by Todd Pletcher, the 5-year-old will start from post nine with Javier
 Castellano in the saddle.
 Mission Impazible, owned by Twin Creeks Racing, was second to Wise Dan in last
 year's Clark. He began 2012 as the runner-up to Hymn Book in the Donn Handicap
 at Gulfstream Park, but has not won in five starts this year.
 A veteran of 20 starts, Mission Impazible has three wins and eight seconds for
 In  post  position order  here is  the field  for the  Clark: Pool Play, Corey
 Lanerie;   Eye  of  the  Leopard,  Jon  Court;  Shackleford,  Jesus  Castanon;
 Bourbon  Courage, Leandro  Goncalves; Cease,  Miguel Mena;  Take Charge  Indy,
 Calvin  Borel; Fast  Falcon, Shaun Bridgmohan; Stealcase, Brian Hernandez Jr.;
 Mission Impazible, Javier Castellano and Lunar Victory, Junior Alvarado.
 Approximate post-time for the Clark is 5:35 p.m. (ET).
 11/20 14:39:58 ET

The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com