=== New category included in Racing Hall of Fame ===
 Saratoga  Springs, NY (Sports Network) - The National Thoroughbred Racing Hall
 of  Fame has  added a  fourth category  as a  way of  recognizing the  sport's
 history.  Joining the  horses, jockeys and trainers will be the Pillars of the
 Turf, beginning in 2013.
 Pillars  of the Turf is an effort to bring to light the people who have played
 important parts to the sport of thoroughbred racing. Among the areas of racing
 to  be  considered  are  innovation, philanthropy,  promotion  and  education,
 breeding and ownership.
 The 12 member committee charged with determining finalists in the new category
 will  be led by  Edward L. Bowen and comprised of Jane Goldstein, Ken Grayson,
 Jay  Hovdey,  G. Watts Humphrey, Bill  Marshall, Lev Miller, Bill Mooney, Mary
 Simon, D.G. Van Clief, Michael Veitch, and Gary West.
 The  selection committee  will choose a Pillar  of the Turf in both a historic
 group  (prior  to 1950) and  contemporary. Induction to  the Hall of Fame will
 require a 75 percent vote of the selection committee.
 10/31 16:29:22 ET

The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com