PGA - The McGladrey Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, October 23rd through Sunday, October 26th
SITE: Sea Island Resort (Seaside Course), St. Simons Island, Georgia
COURSE ARCHITECT: Harry S. Colt & Charles Alison (1929),
         Joe Lee (1973), Tom Fazio (1999)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 7,005
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 417 yds10 - Par 4 418 yds
2 - Par 4 415 yds11 - Par 4 425 yds
3 - Par 3 204 yds12 - Par 3 223 yds
4 - Par 4 429 yds13 - Par 4 408 yds
5 - Par 4 409 yds14 - Par 4 442 yds
6 - Par 3 179 yds15 - Par 5 565 yds
7 - Par 5 582 yds16 - Par 4 407 yds
8 - Par 4 368 yds17 - Par 3 192 yds
9 - Par 4 452 yds18 - Par 4 470 yds
35 3,455 yds35 3,550 yds
Annual:  5th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 2-5 p.m. (et),
  - Thursday/Sunday -- 8-11 p.m. (et) - replay
Defending Champion:  Chris Kirk
Runner-Up:  Briny Baird, Tim Clark
Tournament Record:  264 (Tommy Gainey, 2012)
54-Hole Record:  197 (Michael Thompson, 2011; Jim Furyk, Davis Love III, 2012)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Billy Horschel, 2011)
Course Record:  60 (Tommy Gainey, 2012)
Total Purse:  $5,700,000
Shares:  1st Place - $1,026,000; 2nd Place - $615,600; 3rd Place - $387,600
2013 Finish
Chris Kirk266John Senden268
Briny Baird267Matt Every270
Tim Clark267Webb Simpson270
Scott Brown268Matt Kuchar270
Brian Gay268Six players at272
Past McGladrey Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013Chris Kirk (266) -- Briny Baird, Tim Clark
2012Tommy Gainey (264) -- David Toms
2011*Ben Crane (265) -- Webb Simpson
2010Heath Slocum (266) -- Bill Haas

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Chris KirkT-15mcT-64Won
Webb SimpsonT-122nd---T-7
Matt KucharT-25T-20---T-7
Jason Kokrak------T-27T-10
Zach JohnsonT-12mcT-49T-16
Heath SlocumWonT-15T-61T-16
David TomsT-3mc2ndT-27
Tommy Gainey----mcWonmc
Davis Love IIIT-33mcT-4mc
Ben Martin---68th---mc
Bill Haas2nd---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Webb Simpson
Darkhorse - Russell Knox
Last week's Pick to Win (Hideki Matsuyama) - Finished tied for 10th
Last week's Darkhorse (Martin Laird) - Finished tied for 18th
NOTES:The PGA Tour travels to Georgia this week for The McGladrey Classic
at the Seaside Course at Sea Island Resort in St. Simons Island, Georgia. Three of the top-23 players in the world are competing this week - Sea Island residents Matt Kuchar (9), Zach Johnson (15) and defending champion Chris Kirk (23). Sea Island resident Davis Love III is also in the field and will be the tournament host. The purse increased $200,000 from last year to $5.7 million, with the winner receiving $1,026,000.

The Seaside Course is ranked as one of the top 100 courses in the United States by Golf Digest. It is situated on the southern tip of St. Simons Island and is a true oceanside course. Seaside was originally built as a 9-hole course by Harry S. Colt and Charles Alison in 1929. Joe Lee designed the Marshside nine in 1973. Tom Fazio transformed the two nines into the current Seaside Course in 1999. The tournament sponsor, McGladrey, is one of the country's leading accounting, tax and business consulting firms.

Last year, Kirk took advantage of a costly mistake by Briny Baird on the last hole of the final round to earn a 1-stroke victory. Kirk carded a 4-under 66 during his final round to claim his second career victory on the PGA Tour at 14-under-par 266. Baird bogeyed his final hole to finish in a share of second place with Tim Clark.

In 2012, Tommy Gainey fired a course-record 60 in the final round to earn a surprising comeback win. Gainey entered the day seven shots off the pace, but used a strong back-9 stretch to jump in front. Needing a birdie on the last to shoot 59, Gainey dropped his approach inside 20 feet, but saw his birdie putt come up inches short. Instead, he settled for par and a career-best 60 to finish at 16-under 264 -- good for his first PGA Tour win.

In 2011, Ben Crane poured in eight birdies in a 10-hole span in the final round to get into a playoff, providing him the opportunity to 2-putt for par on the second playoff hole to beat Webb Simpson. Crane fired a 7-under 63 in the final round and joined Simpson at 15-under-par 265. Crane's 63 was the lowest final round by a winner on the PGA Tour in 2011.

Heath Slocum made a key 60-foot birdie putt from off the 16th green to win by one shot over Bill Haas in 2010. With a sturdy stroke, Slocum sent his ball motoring toward the hole from the far side of the green. The putt, traveling too fast for all its 20 yards, was stopped dead in its tracks by the flag stick and dropped into the cup.

Next week, the PGA Tour heads to Malaysia for the CIMB Classic at Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club, where Ryan Moore captured the title last season.

10/21 13:08:57 ET

As of October 21, 2014, at 01:09 PM ET