PGA TOUR CANADA - Tour Championship of Canada Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, September 11th through Sunday, September 14th
SITE: Sunningdale Golf & Country Club (Championship Course), London, Ontario
COURSE ARCHITECT: Clinton (Robbie) Robinson and Stanley Thompson
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,089
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 518 Yds10 - Par 4 380 Yds
2 - Par 4 383 Yds11 - Par 3 166 Yds
3 - Par 3 167 Yds12 - Par 5 493 Yds
4 - Par 4 454 Yds13 - Par 4 428 Yds
5 - Par 4 440 Yds14 - Par 4 450 Yds
6 - Par 4 403 Yds15 - Par 5 566 Yds
7 - Par 3 208 Yds16 - Par 3 169 Yds
8 - Par 4 453 Yds17 - Par 4 437 Yds
9 - Par 5 521 Yds18 - Par 4 453 Yds
36 3,547 Yds36 3,542 Yds
Annual:  13th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Max Gilbert (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Trevor Murphy
Tournament Record:  263 (Stuart Anderson, Richard Scott, 2011)
54-Hole Record:  196 (Richard Scott, Erick Justesen, 2011)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Erick Justesen, 2011)
18-Hole Record:  62 (Erick Justesen, 2011)
Total Purse:  $150,000 (Canadian dollars)
Prize Breakdown:  1st Place - $27,000; 2nd - $16,200; 3rd - $10,200
2013 Finish
Max Gilbert268Alex Kang275
Trevor Murphy269Brock Mackenzie276
Eugene Wong274Brady Schnell276
Jose Toledo274Mark Hubbard276
Nathan Tyler275Five players at278
Past Tour Championship of Canada Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013Max Gilbert (268) -- Trevor Murphy
2012Eugene Wong (270) -- Joe Panzeri
2011*Stuart Anderson (263) -- Richard Scott
2010Aaron Goldberg (265) -- Brian Unk, Josh Habig, Kane Hanson, Mitch
Gillis, Clayton Rask
2009*James Love (269) -- Lucas Lee
2008Tom Stankowski (272) -- Wes Heffernan, Graham DeLaet
2007Bret Guetz (274) -- Byron Smith
2006Stuart Anderson (273) -- Matt McQuillan
2005*Michael Harris (275) -- Anders Hultman
2004Chris Wisler (276) -- Dirk Ayers, Brad Fritsch, Scott Hawley,
Clint Jensen
2003Rodney Butcher (278) -- Jon Mills
2002Jeff Quinney (282) -- Dave Christensen, Mario Tiziani

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Canadian Tour Championship (2002-12).

Top Contenders in the Field
Eugene Wong------------------WonT-3
Brock MackenzieT-42------T-40T-24------T-7
Riley Wheeldon---------------mc---T-24
Michael Gligic---------mc------T-50T-36
Josh Persons---------------------T-40
Joel Dahmen------------mcT-4T-16T-43
Wes Homan---------------T-17T-25mc
Nate McCoy------------------T-25mc
Cory Renfrew------------------T-30mc
Greg Machtaler---mc---mcT-39---------
David Bradshaw------------------------
Greg Eason------------------------
Matt Harmon------------------------
Mark Silvers------------------------
Timothy Madigan------------------------
Ricky McDonald------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Michael Gligic
Darkhorse - Chris Williams
Last Week's Pick to Win (Brock Mackenzie) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Max Gilbert) - Finished tied for 52nd
The PGA Tour Canada returns to Ontario for the fourth time in the last five tournaments for the final event of the season, the Tour Championship of Canada in London. This tournament is being played at Sunningdale Golf and Country Club, which will feature parts of both its classic courses, with the tournament taking place on a unique layout comprised of 10 holes of the Stanley Thompson course and eight holes of the Clinton "Robbie" Robinson course. The championship course will begin on holes 10-16 on the Thompson course, continue on to holes 7, 8 and 1 on Thompson, then switch over to 11-16 on the Robinson course, with the final two holes being the 2nd and 18th on the Robinson course.

All tournament winners from 2014 are in the field, including 2-time winner and money leader Joel Dahmen. Dahmen currently leads the money list by more than $20,000 over Timothy Madigan.

The top 60 players on the Order of Merit qualify for this week. The top five players on the Order of Merit following this event will graduate to the Tour in 2015. The top money winner will receive fully exempt status for 2015, with players finishing second to fifth earning highly placed status. Players finishing sixth through 10th will receive an exemption into the final stage of the Tour Q-School, while players finishing 11th to 20th will be exempt into the second stage.

Last year, Max Gilbert shot two rounds of 66 on the weekend and won by a single stroke over Trevor Murphy. Gilbert finished 72 holes at 20-under-par 268 and secured his first PGA Tour Canada win.

In 2012, Eugene Wong holed out from the fairway for eagle on the 18th hole in the final round to earn a dramatic victory. Wong was the only player in the field to card four rounds in the 60s and finished at 4-under 67. Wong finished at 14-under 270 at Scarborough Golf & Country Club for a 1-stroke win over Panzeri. The victory was his first in just his third start on the Canadian Tour.

In 2011, Stuart Anderson defeated Richard Scott on the second playoff hole to win. Anderson's win was his second at this championship. He titled at this event in 2006 and this victory was his fourth all-time on the Canadian Tour. The pair finished regulation at 21-under 263 before Anderson walked off with the title.

Aaron Goldberg closed with a 5-under 65 in the final round to win by six shots over five players in 2010. It was the American's third win of the season, netting him $52,000 and the all-time Canadian Tour record for most money earned in a season with $151,912. That broke the previous single-season mark of $129,158 set by Trevor Dodds in 1996. Dodds also holds the season wins record, capturing four during that season. Goldberg carded four consecutive rounds of 67 or better to finish at 15-under 265 on the St. Catharines course.

In 2009, James Love parred the first playoff hole to beat Lucas Lee, salvaging a season that featured little success. Love, who closed with a 3-under 67 in the final round, had missed the cut in six of his previous nine starts. But all that disappointment faded away on the St. Catharines course after Love chipped within tap-in range for his winning par in the playoff. It was his first career win.

In 2008, Tom Stankowski birdied his final two holes to earn his first victory on the Canadian Tour. He shot a final-round, 3-under 69 and won the title by two strokes over Wes Heffernan and Graham DeLaet at 16-under 272.

In 2007, Bret Guetz held off a hard-charging Byron Smith in the final round to earn his first victory on the Canadian Tour. Guetz carded rounds of 67-70-65-72 to finish at 14-under-par 274.

09/10 12:18:33 ET

As of September 10, 2014, at 12:18 PM ET