European Golf Tour
PGA European - Nordea Masters Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, June 4th through Sunday, June 7th
SITE: PGA Sweden National, Malmo, Sweden
COURSE ARCHITECT: Kyle Phillips (2010)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,390
Hole-by-Hole1 - Par 5 547 Yds
2 - Par 4 437 Yds
3 - Par 4 417 Yds
4 - Par 3 224 Yds
5 - Par 4 361 Yds
6 - Par 3 170 Yds
7 - Par 4 481 Yds
8 - Par 5 639 Yds
9 - Par 4 476 Yds
36 3,752 Yds
10 - Par 4 437 Yds
11 - Par 5 552 Yds
12 - Par 4 416 Yds
13 - Par 4 443 Yds
14 - Par 4 334 Yds
15 - Par 3 170 Yds
16 - Par 4 476 Yds
17 - Par 3 209 Yds
18 - Par 5 601 Yds
36 3,638 Yds
Annual:  25th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday -- 6-7 a.m. (et), 9-10 a.m. (et),
  - Friday -- 5-7 a.m. (et), 9 a.m.-12 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 7:30-11:30 a.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 7-11:30 a.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Thongchai Jaidee
Runner-Up:  Stephen Gallacher, Victor Dubuisson
Tournament Record:  262 (Mark Hensby, Henrik Stenson, 2005)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Barry Lane, Bradley Dredge, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Bradley Dredge, 2005)
18-Hole Record:  61 (Fred Couples, 1991 - Drottningholm)
Course Record:  63 (Andreas Harto, 2011; Robert Karlsson, 2014)
Total Purse:  $1,640,000 (1,500,000 euros)
Share:  1st Place - $271,652; 2nd Place - $181,094; 3rd Place - $102,032
2014 Finish
Thongchai Jaidee *272Robert Karlsson275
Stephen Gallacher272Alvaro Quiros275
Victor Dubuisson272Eddie Pepperell275
Robert-Jan Derksen273David Howell276
Henrik Stenson274Rafael Cabrera-Bello276

* - Won in Playoff

Past Nordea Masters Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2014*Thongchai Jaidee (272) -- Stephen Gallacher, Victor Dubuisson
2013Mikko Ilonen (267) -- Jonas Blixt
2012Lee Westwood (269) -- Ross Fisher
2011Alexander Noren (273) -- Richard Finch
2010Richard S. Johnson (277) -- Rafa Echenique
2009Ricardo Gonzalez (282) -- Jamie Donaldson
2008Peter Hanson (271) -- Nick Dougherty, Pelle Edberg
2007Mikko Ilonen (274) -- Nick Dougherty, Jean Baptiste-Gonnet,
Martin Kaymer, Peter Hedblom, Christian Cevaer
2006*Marc Warren (278) -- Robert Karlsson
2005*Mark Hensby (262) -- Henrik Stenson
2004Luke Donald (272) -- Peter Hanson, Henrik Stenson
2003Adam Scott (277) -- Nick Dougherty
2002Graeme McDowell (270) -- Trevor Immelman
2001Colin Montgomerie (274) -- Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter
2000Lee Westwood (270) -- Michael Campbell
1999Colin Montgomerie (268) -- Jesper Parnevik
1998Jesper Parnevik (273) -- Darren Clarke
1997Joakim Haeggman (270) -- Ignacio Garrido
1996*Lee Westwood (281) -- Paul Broadhurst, Russell Claydon
1995Jesper Parnevik (270) -- Colin Montgomerie
1994Vijay Singh (268) -- Mark McNulty
1993*Peter Baker (278) -- Anders Forsbrand
1992Nick Faldo (277) -- Jose Maria Olazabal, Frank Nobilo, Peter Baker,
Peter O'Malley, Danny Mijovic, Robert Allenby
1991Colin Montgomerie (270) -- Seve Ballesteros

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Volvo Scandinavian Masters (1995-2002), Scandinavian
Masters by Carlsberg (2003-05), EnterCard Scandinavian Masters (2006), Scandinavian Masters (2007), SAS Masters (2008-09), Nordea Scandinavian Masters (2010).

Top Contenders in the Field
Thongchai Jaidee------T-52---Won
Victor DubuissonT-24T-13------T-2
Stephen Gallacher------------T-2
Henrik Stenson---mc------5th
Robert Karlsson7thT-16------T-6
Eddie Pepperell------------T-6
R. Cabrera-BelloT-24T-44T-47mcT-9
Thomas Bjorn---------T-4T-15
Peter HansonT-34---T-3T-30T-25
Mikko Ilonenmc---T-3WonT-32
Soren Kjeldsenmc------T-14T-32
James MorrisonT-8mc---mcT-40
Miguel A. Jimenez---------T-1470th
Ricardo GonzalezT-41------T-3771st
Jonas Blixt------mc2ndmc
Joost LuitenT-28------T-11---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Thongchai Jaidee
Darkhorse - Eddie Pepperell
Last Week's Pick to Win (Sergio Garcia) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Miguel Angel Jimenez) - Finished tied for 43rd
The European Tour heads to Sweden this week for the Nordea Masters. Many of the top players on the European Tour are playing at the Memorial Tournament on the PGA Tour this week in the United States. However, three of the top 40 players in the world are in the field - Swede Henrik Stenson (4), Victor Dubuisson (32) and defending champion Thongchai Jaidee (33).

Stenson is still looking for his first victory this year. He has three top-5 finishes on the PGA Tour, including a runner-up performance at the Arnold Palmer Invitational in March.

Last year, Jaidee birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Dubuisson and Stephen Gallacher. Jaidee closed with a 7-under 65 in the final round to get in at 16-under-par 272 with Dubuisson and Gallacher. Jaidee became the oldest winner in event history at 44 years old. His 4-shot comeback on the final day equaled the biggest comeback in the history of the tournament.

In 2013, Mikko Ilonen carded rounds of 70-63-65-69 to cruise to a 3-stroke win over Jonas Blixt. Ilonen, who also won this title in 2007, finished at 21-under-par 267. The victory was his third on the European Tour.

Lee Westwood posted rounds of 68-64-68-69 and cruised to his third victory at this event in 2012. Westwood, whose first European Tour victory came here in 1996, was the only player in the field to post four rounds in the 60s and finished at 19-under 269. He won by five shots over Ross Fisher and joined Colin Montgomerie as three-time winners of this tournament.

In 2011, Alexander Noren, who led by 11 at the beginning of the final round, battled windy conditions and managed only a 5-over 77, but still won the tournament by seven strokes with a score of 15-under 273. Noren posted his second win in six events -- the third win of his career -- and became the fifth Swede to win this event in his home country. Only 15 players finished under par for the tournament.

In 2008, Peter Hanson survived a late charge from countryman Pelle Edberg in the final round to capture the title. Hanson became the first Swedish player to win this tournament since Jesper Parnevik claimed victory in 1998. It was Hanson's first win on the European Tour since the 2005 Open de Espana en Andalucia.

Mark Hensby parred the second playoff hole in 2005 to edge Stenson. Hensby picked up his first win on the European Tour, becoming the first Australian to win this event.

In 2004, Luke Donald picked up his first European Tour title here, as he defeated Hanson and Stenson by five shots.

Jesper Parnevik became only the second player to win a European Tour event without dropping a shot in 1995. The first player to accomplish that feat was David J. Russell at the 1992 Open de Lyon Trophee V33.

On his way to a tie for sixth place in the 1991 event, Fred Couples had 12 birdies in his second round while shooting a 61 (-11), an 18-hole record at this tournament. The 12 birdies is the most in a single round in European Tour history.

The European Tour travels to Austria next week for the Lyoness Open in Atzenbrugg, where Mikael Lundberg captured the 2014 title.

06/02 17:50:01 ET

As of June 2, 2015, at 05:50 PM ET