Other Sports

This Day In Sports

August 28
1951 The Pittsburgh Pirates halted the New York Giants winning streak at 16 games with a 2-0 victory.
1956 The U.S. was swept 5-0 by Australia in the Davis Cup.
1988 After riding Precisionist in the Cabrillo Handicap at Del Mar Racetrack, 33-year-old Chris McCarron became the fifth jockey to surpass $100 million in career earnings.
1990 Chicago Cubs Ryne Sandberg became the first second baseman in MLB history to hit 30 home runs in consecutive seasons.
1990 Stefan Edberg became the first No. 1 seeded player since John Newcombe in 1971 to lose in the first round of the U.S. Open, when he was defeated by Alexander Volkov of the USSR, 6-3, 7-6, 6-2.
1994 Eighteen-year old Tiger Woods became the youngest winner in the history of the U.S. Amateur Golf Championship, eeking out victory over Trip Kuehne.
1995 Monica Seles defeated Ruxandra Dragomir, 6-3, 6-1 in the first round of the U.S. Open. It was Seles' first Grand Slam tournament in 2 1/2 years after being stabbed in the back in Hamburg, Germany.
1996 San Diego's Ken Caminiti set an NL record by homering from both sides of the plate for the seventh time in his career as the Padres beat the New York Mets, 3-2 in 12 innings.
1996 San Diego's Fernando Valenzuela recorded his 2,000th career strikeout in the Padres 3-2, 12th-inning victory over the New York Mets.
2004 At the Summer Olympics in Athens, the American women's basketball team won their third straight gold medal with a 74-63 victory over Australia; Argentina won its first ever Olympic gold medal in men's basketball by defeating Italy, 84-69.
2005 Hawaii's Michael Memea hit a game-winning home run in the bottom of the seventh inning to lead the United States over Curacao, 7-6, in the Little League World Series Championship Game.
2008 NFL commissioner Roger Goodell reinstated Dallas Cowboys CB Adam Jones.
2008 French qualifier Julie Coin, ranked 188th in the world, pulled off a massive upset by ousting world No. 1 Ana Ivanovic in second-round action at the U.S. Open.
2009 The Tampa Bay Rays traded left-handed pitcher Scott Kazmir to the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim in exchange for left-handed pitcher Alex Torres and third baseman Matt Sweeney.
2011 California won the Little League World Series, 2-1, after Nick Pratto hit an RBI single with two outs in the sixth inning, ending Japan's hopes at a repeat title.
2011 The Boston Cannons won the Major League Lacrosse Championship with a 10-9 victory over the Hamilton Nationals.
2012 Major League Baseball and ESPN reached a new eight-year broadcasting deal.
2012 The Chicago Cubs re-signed shortstop Starlin Castro to a seven-year contract extension worth $60 million.
2013 Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel was suspended for the first half of season opener against Rice due to an inadvertent violation of NCAA rules regarding the signing of certain autographs.
Birthdays Janet Evans (1971) - Olympic swimmer.
As of August 27, 2014, at 06:00 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.