Co-medalists Moore, McCoy both ousted at U.S. Amateur

Johns Creek, GA (Sports Network) - Taylor Moore and Lee McCoy shared medalist honors on Tuesday, but were both ousted in the first round of match play on Wednesday at the U.S. Amateur Championship.

Moore dropped a 3 & 2 decision to Jesse Heinly, while McCoy lost on the 19th hole to Nathan Smith. Both Heinly and Smith got into the match play portion of the championship as they were among four players that survived a 17-for-4 playoff earlier Wednesday.

Heinly won the first and third, while Moore claimed the second with a par. Moore birdied the fifth to square the match. They traded wins at eight and nine. Heinly won three in a row from the 11th, two with birdies and a par.

Moore won the 15th with a par, but he bogeyed No. 16 to lose the match.

Smith, a four-time winner of the U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship, and McCoy were close throughout their match. McCoy took the second with a par, but Smith won the fourth and fifth. Smith bogeyed the seventh to square the match.

The duo split the next six holes, winning three apiece. McCoy won the 16th, but Smith birdied the 17th to even things up. After matching pars on No. 18, Smith parred the 19th to win the match.

Cameron Young also needed 19 holes to advance as he held off Tyler Toran. Ollie Schniederjans, the top-ranked amateur in the world, and Byron Meth, this year's U.S. Amateur Public Links champ, both earned 6 & 5 wins, while Denny McCarthy trounced Jonathan Woo, 7 & 5, and Justin Tereshko rolled to a 7 & 6 victory.

Scottie Scheffler, the 2013 U.S. Junior Amateur winner, dropped a 1-down decision to Casey Conners. Jordan Niebrugge, the 2013 U.S. Amateur Public Links winner, was also ousted. Robby Shelton, who helped Alabama win the NCAA title this year, and Cheng-Tsung Pan, who shared 45th at last year's U.S. Open, were among those advancing.

The U.S. Amateur continues with second and third round matches on Wednesday. The championship will wrap up with the 36-hole final on Sunday.

08/13 21:54:41 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.