Ghim, Hoey, Meth on to Publinx quarters

Newton, KS ( - Doug Ghim, Rico Hoey and Byron Meth, three of the four stroke-play medalists, advanced to the match-play quarterfinals of the U.S. Amateur Public Links after winning their second and third-round matches on Thursday.

After defeating Brandon Kida 5 & 4 in the second round earlier on Thursday at Sand Creek Station Golf Course, Ghim had his work cut out for him in the third round, going up against defending champion Jordan Niebrugge.

While Ghim never gave up the lead, Niebrugge battled back after being 4-down through seven holes. Niebrugge won four of the next five holes and the two were all-square. Ghim won the 14th hole with a birdie, but Niebrugge came right back with a birdie of his own to square things up again at No. 15.

It took more than 18 holes to determine a winner as both players halved seven straight holes until No. 5. Niebrugge tripped up and bogeyed the par-4 fifth hole, while Ghim made par to seal the win, securing his spot in the quarterfinals.

Hoey was all-square with Matt Record at No. 11, but Hoey won three of the next four holes at 12, 14 and 15 to put him 3-up. The two halved No. 16 and Hoey walked away victorious with a 3 & 2 win.

Meth also grabbed the lead over Garrett Rank at No. 3 and never let go. Meth made four birdies on the day and won three of his last five holes. It all ended at 16 when Rank made bogey, while Meth parred to win 3 & 2.

Niebrugge had a scare in the second round when he trailed 15-year-old Easton Paxton by one after nine holes. The defending champ rallied, however, and won No. 12 before winning three straight from 14 to seal a 4 & 2 victory.

Other players who advanced to the quarterfinals on Friday were Robert Geibel, Michael Gellerman, John Oda, Jess Bonneau and Bryson Dechambeau.

It also took Geibel more than 18 holes to defeat Cody McManus in the third round. Geibel made par on the first extra hole, while McManus made bogey.

The quarterfinal matches will begin on Friday morning.

07/17 20:00:40 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.