European PGA Tour

PGA European - Shenzhen International Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, April 16th through Sunday, April 19th
SITE: Genzon Golf Club, Shenzhen, China
COURSE ARCHITECT: Unknown (1995), Neil Howarth (2008)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,145
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 358 yds10 - Par 4 408 yds
2 - Par 5 547 yds11 - Par 4 325 yds
3 - Par 3 186 yds12 - Par 3 205 yds
4 - Par 4 437 yds13 - Par 5 543 yds
5 - Par 4 475 yds14 - Par 4 418 yds
6 - Par 4 375 yds15 - Par 4 470 yds
7 - Par 4 401 yds16 - Par 3 204 yds
8 - Par 3 226 yds17 - Par 5 575 yds
9 - Par 5 536 yds18 - Par 4 456 yds
36 3,541 Yds36 3,604 Yds
Annual:  1st
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 6-10 a.m. (et)
Course Record:  62 (Alexander Levy, 2014 - Volvo China Open)
Total Purse:  $2,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $416,660; 2nd Place - $277,770; 3rd Place - $156,500
Past Shenzhen International Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
20151st Year of the Event

Top Players in the Field
Ross Fisher5 European Tour wins, Won 2014 Tshwane Open
Tommy FleetwoodWon 2013 Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles
Emiliano GrilloFinished T-2 at Puerto Rico Open on PGA Tour
Scott HendWon 2014 Hong Kong Open
Alexander LevyWon 2014 Volvo China Open at Genzon Golf Club
Richie Ramsay3 European Tour wins, Won 2015 Trophee Hassan II
Gary StalWon 2015 Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship
Andy SullivanWon 2015 South African Open Championship and Joburg Open
Bubba Watson7 PGA Tour wins, 2-time Masters champion, World No. 4
Romain WattelFinished 2nd at Trophee Hassan II three weeks ago

Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Bubba Watson
Darkhorse - Jaco Van Zyl
Last Week's Pick to Win (Marcel Siem) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Mikael Lundberg) - Finished tied for 3rd
The European Tour travels to China this week for the inaugural Shenzhen International at Genzon Golf Club. Two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson is the highest-ranked player in the field at No. 4 in the world.

Watson finished tied for 38th last week at the Masters. He won the WGC-HSBC Champions at Sheshan International Golf Club in Shanghai, China in November. Watson has four top-10 finishes in six events on the PGA Tour this season.

This tournament is the third of five new events on the European Tour this season. Andrew Dodt won the True Thailand Classic in February and Anirban Lahiri captured the Hero Indian Open in February. The other new events are the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open in May, and the Saltire Energy Paul Lawrie Matchplay, which will be held July 30-August 2 in Scotland.

Genzon Golf Club hosted the 2014 Volvo China Open, which was won by Alexander Levy of France. Levy is in the field this week and holds the course record of 62. Genzon Golf Club is the first Chinese course to stage two different official European Tour events.

The European Tour remains in China next week for the Volvo China Open, where Levy will defend his title at Tomson Shanghai Pudong Golf Club.

04/14 15:38:47 ET

As of April 14, 2015, at 03:39 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.