Formula One

Formula One - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, Nov. 23
SITE: Yas Marina Circuit -- Yas Island, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
TRACK: 5.554 km (3.451 miles), 21-turn road course
CAPACITY: 100,000+
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Nov. 22/8 a.m. ET (TV: CNBC)
RUNNER-UP: Mark Webber
POLE WINNER: Mark Webber (finished 2)
LAPS: 55
MILES: 189.738 (305.355 km)
QUALIFYING RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2011 (1 min., 38.481 secs.)
RACE RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2009 (1 hr., 34 min., 3.414 sec.)
2013 Finish
1Sebastian Vettel26Paul di Resta11
2Mark Webber17Lewis Hamilton4
3Nico Rosberg38Felipe Massa7
4Romain Grosjean69Sergio Perez8
5Fernando Alonso1010Adrian Sutil17
2013 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 186.578 kph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 38 mins., 6.106 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 30.829 secs.
FASTEST LAP: Fernando Alonso, 1:43.434, Lap 55
POLE WINNER: Mark Webber (1:39.957)
Past Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2013 -- Sebastian Vettel (2) -- Red Bull Renault -- 186.578 kph/1:38:06.106
2012 -- Kimi Raikkonen (4) -- Lotus -- 172.878 kph/1:45:58.667
2011 -- Lewis Hamilton (2) -- McLaren-Mercedes -- 188.494 kph/1:37:11.886
2010 -- Sebastian Vettel (1) -- Red Bull Renault -- 183.923 kph/1:39:36.837
2009 -- Sebastian Vettel (2) -- Red Bull Renault -- 194.789 kph/1:34:03.414
Past Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Pole Winners (Finish)
2013 -- Mark Webber -- 2
2012 -- Lewis Hamilton -- Ret
2011 -- Sebastian Vettel -- Ret
2010 -- Sebastian Vettel -- 1
2009 -- Lewis Hamilton -- Ret
Last Race Results
RACE: Brazilian Grand Prix (Nov. 9)
SITE: Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace in Interlagos -- Sao Paulo, Brazil
LAPS: 71
MILES: 190.067 (305.909 km)
WINNER: Nico Rosberg
RUNNER-UP: Lewis Hamilton
THIRD: Felipe Massa
FOURTH: Jenson Button
FIFTH: Sebastian Vettel
POLE WINNER: Nico Rosberg (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 30 mins., 2.555 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 203.842 kph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.457 secs.
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1 *Sebastian Vettel (Heppenheim, Germ)Red Bull Racing-Renault
3Daniel Ricciardo (Perth, Australia)Red Bull Racing-Renault
6Nico Rosberg (Wiesbaden, Germany)Mercedes
7Kimi Raikkonen (Espoo, Finland)Ferrari
8Romain Grosjean (Geneva,Switzerland)Lotus-Renault
10Kamui Kobayashi (Hyogo, Japan)Caterham-Renault
11Sergio Perez (Guadalajara, Mexico)Force India-Mercedes
13Pastor Maldonado (Maracay,Venezuela)Lotus-Renault
14Fernando Alonso (Oviedo, Spain)Ferrari
19Felipe Massa (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Williams-Mercedes
20Kevin Magnussen (Roskilde, Denmark)McLaren-Mercedes
21Esteban Gutierrez (Monterrey, Mexico)Sauber-Ferrari
22Jenson Button (Frome, England)McLaren-Mercedes
25Jean-Eric Vergne (Pontoise, France)Toro Rosso-Renault
26Daniil Kvyat (Bashkortostan, Russia)Toro Rosso-Renault
27Nico Hulkenberg (Emmerich, Germany)Force India-Mercedes
44Lewis Hamilton (Stevenage, England)Mercedes
46Will Stevens (Oxshott, England)Caterham-Renault
77Valtteri Bottas (Nastola, Finland)Williams-Mercedes
99Adrian Sutil (Starnberg, Germany)Sauber-Ferrari
* - defending champion
Leading Contenders (Finish last five years)
Sebastian VettelWonWonRet3Won
Nico Rosberg946Ret3
Fernando Alonso147225
Lewis HamiltonRet2WonRet7
Felipe Massa---10578
Jenson Button333412
Valtteri Bottas------------15
Daniel Ricciardo------Ret1016
Kimi Raikkonen12------WonRet
Mover of the Week
Nico Hulkenberg - started 12 and finished 8
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Nico Rosberg
Last Week's Pick to Win (Lewis Hamilton) - finished 2
The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit is the 19th and final round on the 2014 Formula One calendar.

This grand prix is F1's first double points race, with the winner receiving 50 points compared to the usual 25.

The Abu Dhabi GP will decide the world championship between Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. Mercedes has already clinched the constructors' title. Hamilton currently holds a 17-point lead over Rosberg. They are the only drivers who remain eligible for the championship.

If Hamilton finishes no worse than second, he will be guaranteed of his second world championship, even if Rosberg wins the race. Hamilton's first title in F1 came in 2008.

This will be the sixth running of the Abu Dhabi GP at Yas Marina Circuit, which is one of the few tracks on the F1 calendar to run in an anti- clockwise direction. It's also part of Abu Dhabi's Yas Island development, covering an area of 25-square kilometers.

The Abu Dhabi GP is the only race of the season that starts late in the afternoon and concludes at twilight. When the lights are turned on, Yas Marina becomes one of the largest lit permanent sports venues in the world.

This will be the third time Abu Dhabi hosts the season-ending race. It was also the season-finale in 2009 and '10. Sebastian Vettel from Red Bull won the inaugural running of this event in '09, and then followed up with another victory there one year later. Vettel's win in Abu Dhabi four years ago allowed him to clinch his first of four consecutive F1 world championships by just four points over Fernando Alonso from Ferrari.

In 2012, Kimi Raikkonen won a F1 grand prix for the first time in three years by taking the checkered flag for the Abu Dhabi GP. Raikkonen, the 2007 F1 world champion, left Ferrari at the end of 2009 and then competed in the World Rally Championship as well as a handful of NASCAR Nationwide and Camping World Truck Series races for the next two years before joining Lotus for the '12 season. He gave Lotus its first victory in the sport since the 1987 United States Grand Prix in Detroit. Raikkonen returned to Ferrari following the conclusion of the 2013 season.

The Caterham F1 team is set to return to racing in Abu Dhabi after missing the last two grand prix (United States and Brazil) due to ongoing financial issues. Kamui Kobayashi will drive one of its cars there. Driver Marcus Ericsson recently departed the team.

The 2015 F1 world championship will begin with the March 15 Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne. Rosberg won last year's race there.

11/20 12:24:25 ET

As of November 20, 2014, at 12:24 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.