NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

          === Ganassi picks up another win in Rolex 24 at Daytona ===
 Daytona  Beach,  FL (Sports Network)  - Chip  Ganassi Racing claimed its fifth
 victory while driver Scott Pruett matched a record in the prestigious Rolex 24
 at Daytona on Sunday.
 Pruett  tied Hurley Haywood's record of five overall wins in the twice-around-
 the-clock  event at  Daytona  International Speedway.  The 52-year-old  Pruett
 shared  driving duties  with his Grand-Am Road Racing teammate, Memo Rojas, as
 well  as NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Juan Pablo Montoya and IndyCar Series
 competitor Charlie Kimball in Ganassi's No. 01 BMW/Riley.
 "It's  just  an incredible  day all  the way around,  winning with these guys,
 winning with (team owner) Chip (Ganassi)," Pruett said.
 Pruett is a record five-time Grand-Am Rolex Daytona Prototype champion. He and
 Rojas have won the DP title with Ganassi the past three years.
 "With  the  five championships that  we've won, and  now the five overall wins
 here  at the  Rolex 24,  five-for-five is  nice," Pruett  noted. "They're  all
 different, but they are all as sweet."
 Montoya  drove the No. 01 car during the final hours of the race, crossing the
 finish line 22 seconds ahead of Max Angelelli, who was behind the wheel of the
 No.  10  Corvette for Wayne Taylor  Racing. Jordan Taylor and reigning IndyCar
 champion  Ryan Hunter-Reay  shared driving duties with Angelelli in the No. 10
 Montoya,  Pruett, Rojas and Kimball combined for 709 laps around the 3.56-mile
 a race that featured a record 74 lead changes.
 Ganassi's fifth win in the Rolex 24 came in his 10th attempt.
 With just over an hour remaining in the race, a full-course caution bunched up
 the  frontrunners.  A.J. Allmendinger,  a NASCAR  competitor, grabbed the lead
 during a round of pit stops before the caution. Montoya ran back in the fourth
 spot  for  the restart,  but quickly  charged his way  up front before passing
 Angelelli in the closing laps. Allmendinger, who won last year's Rolex 24 with
 Michael Shank Racing, ended up finishing third.
 "It  was a lot of pressure," Montoya said. "You had to be smart about when you
 passed  them  and everything, so  I was always careful  on the restarts, and I
 took my time to pass people."
 Marcos  Ambrose, who  is also a Sprint Cup regular, shared driving duties with
 Allmendinger  in Shank's No. 60 Ford/Riley. Ozz Negri Jr., John Pew and Justin
 Wilson also drove the car.
 01/27 18:42:56 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.