NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

          === Pole sitter Logano crashes in practice at Homestead ===
 Homestead,  FL (Sports  Network) - Joey Logano, the pole sitter for the Sprint
 Cup  Series season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, will have to start from
 the  rear  of the  field in  a backup  car after  wrecking his primary vehicle
 during Saturday's practice session.
 Logano,  who claimed his second pole of the season on Friday at Homestead, was
 involved  in an accident with his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate, Denny Hamlin, and
 Greg  Biffle from  Roush Fenway Racing. While running side-by-side, Hamlin and
 Biffle made contact and hit the wall. Logano was running behind them before he
 was collected in the crash.
 "I  don't  think that (Hamlin)  thought we  were three-wide," Biffle said. "He
 thought  we were two-wide. Ultimately, we may not have been three-wide at that
 particular  time, but my  spotter told me to leave the 20 (Logano) room, and I
 left  the 20  room. Whether he was there  or not, maybe the 20 said, 'I've had
 enough. You're three-wide, and this is practice.' I don't know."
 Hamlin  and  Biffle will also rely  on their backup cars for Sunday's 400-mile
 Since  Logano will  start  from the  back  of the  field,  points leader  Brad
 Keselowski  will move  up to the front starting position. Keselowski qualified
 on  the  inside of  row two, but  the drivers  on the inside  lane and not the
 outside  lane  of the  field  for  this  race  will advance  their  positions.
 Therefore, Keselowski goes from third to first.
 The  position change  could benefit Keselowski, who currently holds a 20-point
 lead over Jimmie Johnson.
 Keselowski  will clinch his first Sprint Cup championship as well as the first
 title  for  team owner Roger  Penske in  NASCAR's premier series if Keselowski
 finishes 15th or better, regardless of Johnson's performance here. He can also
 be  guaranteed  the title if  he finishes  16th and leads  at least one lap or
 places 17th after leading the most laps.
 11/17 17:09:55 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.