NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

      === Logano grabs pole for Homestead, Keselowski qualifies third ===
 Homestead,  FL  (Sports Network)  - Joey  Logano won the  pole for the season-
 ending  Sprint Cup  Series race, while points leader Brad Keselowski qualified
 third on Friday at Homestead-Miami Speedway.
 Logano,  who is  making his  last start  in the  No. 20  Toyota for  Joe Gibbs
 Racing,  turned a  lap at 176.056 mph.  He was quickest in practice earlier in
 the  day and therefore  the last driver to make a qualifying run in the 47-car
 field.  After  the season concludes, Logano  is leaving JGR and moving over to
 Penske Racing, where he will team with Keselowski in 2013.
 The  22-year-old Logano claimed his second pole of the season and fifth of his
 Sprint Cup career.
 "We  were good in  practice, and they (No. 20 team) made the right adjustments
 for  us to  make sure it was good  when the sun went down," Logano said. "They
 did  their part, and  I did my part, and it came out perfect. I appreciate it.
 My last run with them, so it's awesome to get a pole for them again."
 Jimmie  Johnson, who  currently trails Keselowski by 20 points, qualified 10th
 with  a  lap at 174.081  mph. Keselowski and Johnson  are the only drivers who
 remain eligible for the Sprint Cup championship.
 "We  always want  to be better, and we  always want to be faster, but it was a
 solid, respectable qualifying lap," Johnson said.
 Keselowski  will clinch his first Sprint Cup championship as well as the first
 title  for  team owner Roger  Penske in  NASCAR's premier series if Keselowski
 finishes  15th or  better at  Homestead, regardless  of Johnson's  performance
 here.  He  can also be guaranteed  the title if  he finishes 16th and leads at
 least one lap or places 17th after leading the most laps.
 "I  totally  expected (Johnson) to  out-qualify us,  to be quite honest," said
 Keselowski,  who  posted a lap  at 175.092  mph. "I was  going to be fine with
 that.  At least we were prepared for the worst. That's not what happened, so I
 guess we're okay."
 Marcos  Ambrose secured  the outside  pole  with a  lap at  175.342 mph.  Carl
 Edwards and Aric Almirola rounded out the top-five.
 Clint  Bowyer  qualified sixth, followed  by Martin  Truex Jr., Kyle Busch and
 Mark Martin.
 Reed  Sorenson, Stephen  Leicht,  Jason  Leffler and  Joe  Nemechek failed  to
 qualify  for Sunday's  400-mile race, which is scheduled to start just after 3
 p.m. (ET).
 11/16 21:11:39 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.