Men's College Basketball
    November    >

              ***** Top-25 College Basketball Game Capsules *****
                             (Friday, November 21)
                   Final Score: (1) Kentucky 89, Boston U 65
 Lexington,  KY  ( -  Aaron Harrison  led a balanced Kentucky
 attack  with 19  points and the No. 1  Wildcats used a big second half to pull
 away  from  Boston University, 89-65, to  remain unbeaten on the season. Devin
 Booker  had  15 points and  seven assists  and Karl-Anthony Towns blocked five
 shots  for Kentucky (4-0), which dismantled fifth-ranked Kansas earlier in the
 week in Indianapolis before returning home for an eight-game homestand. Cedric
 Hankerson scored  a game-high 24 points for BU (1-2), which stayed competitive
 for most of the night before a late rally resulted in a crooked final score.
                      Final Score: (4) Duke 74, Temple 54
 Brooklyn,  NY ( - Quinn Cook had 17 points and five rebounds
 to  give No. 4  Duke a 74-54 victory over Temple in the semifinal round of the
 Coaches  vs.  Cancer Classic  on Friday.  Jahlil Okafor  scored 16 points with
 eight  rebounds and  Justise  Winslow  added 15  points  for  the Blue  Devils
 (4-0),  who  will take  on  Stanford  in  the  tournament title  on  Saturday.
 Will  Cummings scored  18 points, Josh Brown gave 11, and Quenton DeCosey gave
 10  for  the Owls  (2-1), who  had opened  the season  with wins over American
 University and Louisiana Tech.
                  Final Score: (7) Louisville 85, Marshall 67
 Louisville, KY ( - Chris Jones paced five Louisville players
 in  double  figures with 18  points as  the seventh-ranked Cardinals posted an
 85-67  victory  over Marshall  at the  KFC Yum! Center.  Terry Rozier added 17
 points and Wayne Blackshear had 16 for Louisville (3-0), which overcame a slow
 start  and a  troublesome shooting  effort to  prevail. The  Cardinals hit  on
 just 38.6 percent of their field goal attempts and went 3-of-22  from  3-point
 range,   but  forced  21  Marshall  turnovers  that  were  converted  into  24
 points.  Marshall  (3-1), which  had  won  its  first  three games  --  albeit
 against  far  lesser competition  -- by  an average  of 20  points, was led by
 Shawn Smith's 16 points  and an  impressive 15-point, 18-rebound, eight-assist
 effort from Ryan Taylor.
                   Final Score: (8) Florida 61, UL-Monroe 56 (OT)
 Gainesville,  FL (  - Jon Horford hit the go-ahead shot with
 1:18  left in  overtime, and  No. 8  Florida shook  off UL-Monroe  by a  61-56
 score  in  a Battle 4  Atlantis preliminary-round contest at O'Connell Center.
 Michael  Frazier  totaled 21 points  and eight  rebounds for the Gators (2-1),
 while  Chris Chiozza picked up 11 and Jacob Kurtz recorded 13 rebounds for the
 victorious  hosts. Tylor  Ongwae poured  in 19  points with  eight boards  for
 the Warhawks (2-1). Nick Coppola contributed 11 points in a losing cause.
               Final Score: (9) Virginia 59, George Washington 42
 Charlottesville,  VA (  - Justin  Anderson scored  18 points
 with  eight rebounds  to guide  No.  9 Virginia  to  a 59-42  win over  George
 Washington  on  Friday. Malcolm  Brogdon had  15 points  and five boards while
 Darion Atkins gave eight points  and 11  rebounds for the Cavaliers (4-0), who
 have  posted  double-digit victories in each  of their four games this season.
 Kethan Savage had 13 points and Yuta Watanabe gave 10 points and five rebounds
 for  the Colonials  (2-1), who posted wins over Grambling State and Rutgers to
 start the season.
                   Final Score: (10) Texas 71, California 55
 New  York, NY  ( - Jonathan Holmes recorded 21 points and 13
 rebounds  and  No. 10 Texas cruised  past California, 71-55, to capture the 2K
 Classic  championship at  Madison Square Garden on Friday. The Longhorns (4-0)
 were without star guard Isaiah Taylor because of a wrist injury he suffered in
 Thursday's win over Iowa. With its leading scorer on the mend, Texas struggled
 offensively  and  only made 37.3 percent  of its shots. But a 30-of-37 showing
 at the foul line, in addition to lockdown defense from the opening tip, helped
 the  Longhorns come away with the annual tourney title. The Golden Bears (3-1)
 shot  an  unsightly 31.3 percent  from the field,  as David Kravish and Tyrone
 Wallace led the way with 19 and 16 points, respectively.
                  Final Score: (17) Connecticut 75, Dayton 64
 San Juan, PR ( - Ryan Boatright posted a game-high 20 points
 as No. 17 UConn fought off a challenge from Dayton and claimed a 75-64 victory
 in a second-round matchup in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off. Rodney  Purvis  added 19
 points  for  the Huskies (3-0), who  received 14 from Daniel Hamilton en route
 to  the  tournament final. Jordan Sibert  netted 18 points and Kendall Pollard
 totaled  15  for the Flyers (2-1),  while Dyshawn Pierre contributed 13 points
 and 10 rebounds in defeat.
             Final Score: (19) Michigan State 87, Loyola-Chicago 52
 East  Lansing,  MI (  - Branden Dawson  and Marvin Clark Jr.
 each  scored  15 points as  19th-ranked Michigan State  rolled to an 87-52 win
 over  Loyola-Chicago  in its home  opener on  Friday. Matt Costello and Travis
 Trice  each  netted 13,  with Costello  grabbing 11  rebounds for the Spartans
 (2-1),  who bounced  back from  Tuesday's  81-71 loss  to fourth-ranked  Duke.
 Denzel  Valentine added  12 points with seven assists and six rebounds. Milton
 Doyle  was the only  player for the Ramblers  (2-1) to score in double figures
 with 13.
                     Final Score: (23) Syracuse 66, Iowa 63
 New  York, NY  (  - Chris  McCullough had  20  points and  a
 critical  steal in  the final seconds that  enabled No. 23 Syracuse to hold on
 for  a 66-63  victory over  Iowa in  the 2K  Classic third-place  game. Rakeem
 Christmas  added 18  points on 7-of-11 shooting as Syracuse (3-1) bounced back
 from   a  surprising  73-59  loss  to  California  in  Thursday's  semifinals.
 Trevor Cooney contributed 14 points to the win. Jared Uthoff led the Hawkeyes'
 near-comeback by netting 15 of his 20 points in the  second  half. Aaron White
 finished  with 15  points  and 12  rebounds, while  Adam  Woodbury tallied  12
 points for Iowa (2-2).
                   Final Score: (25) Utah 88, UC Riverside 42
 Salt  Lake City, UT ( - Kyle Kuzma finished with a game-high
 19  points off  the bench  to  lead No.  25 Utah  to  an 88-42  blowout of  UC
 Riverside  on  Friday. Kuzma was 6-of-7  from the field, including 3-of-4 from
 3-point  range  for the  Runnin' Utes  (2-1), who rebounded  from a 53-49 loss
 to  San  Diego State on  Tuesday. Delon Wright  and Jordan Loveridge netted 13
 and  12 points,  respectively, and  Brekkott Chapman  supplied 11  points, six
 rebounds,  four  assists and  three blocks  in the win.  Nick Gruninger had 14
 points  for  the Highlanders  (1-2),  who  were coming  off  a  70-69 loss  to
 Sacramento State on Monday.
 11/22 00:13:12 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.