Women's College Basketball

              === UConn's Stewart wins women's Naismith Trophy ===
 Nashville,  TN  (SportsNetwork.com) -  Connecticut's Breanna Stewart on Monday
 won the Naismith Trophy as player of the year in women's college basketball.
 Stewart,  a sophomore  forward, became the seventh player to win the trophy in
 both high school and college.
 She  has averaged 19.4  points, 8.1 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 2.8 blocks in 39
 games  for  the Huskies entering  Tuesday's national title game against fellow
 unbeaten Notre Dame.
 Stewart  was  the only non-senior  among the  finalists. She beat Notre Dame's
 Kayla McBride, Stanford's Chiney Ogwumike and Baylor's senior Odyssey Sims for
 Connecticut's record eighth Naismith Trophy.
 Creighton's Doug McDermott won the men's award on Sunday.
 04/07 20:08:10 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.