Scores & Stats

LPGA - Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, April 23rd through Sunday, April 26th
SITE: Lake Merced Golf Club, San Francisco, California
COURSE ARCHITECT: Willie Lock (1923), Dr. Alister MacKenzie (1928 - redesign),
         Robert Muir Graves (1965 - redesign), Rees Jones (1996)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,507
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 413 yds10 - Par 4 373 yds
2 - Par 4 376 yds11 - Par 4 381 yds
3 - Par 3 164 yds12 - Par 3 154 yds
4 - Par 4 405 yds13 - Par 4 376 yds
5 - Par 4 381 yds14 - Par 5 475 yds
6 - Par 5 479 yds15 - Par 3 184 yds
7 - Par 4 417 yds16 - Par 4 335 yds
8 - Par 3 162 yds17 - Par 4 382 yds
9 - Par 5 518 yds18 - Par 5 532 yds
36 3,315 yds36 3,192 yds
Annual:  2nd
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 6-9 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Lydia Ko
Runner-Up:  Stacy Lewis
Tournament Record:  276 (Lydia Ko, 2014)
54-Hole Record:  206 (Stacy Lewis, 2014)
36-Hole Record:  138 (Stacy Lewis, 2014)
Course Record:  66 (Karine Icher, 2014)
Total Purse:  $2,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $300,000; 2nd Place - $182,650; 3rd Place - $132,500
2014 Finish
Lydia Ko276Shanshan Feng282
Stacy Lewis277Hyo Joo Kim284
Jenny Shin278P.K. Kongkraphan284
Inbee Park282Four players at286
Line Vedel282
Past Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2014Lydia Ko (276) -- Stacy Lewis

Top Players in the Field

Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Inbee Park
Darkhorse - I.K. Kim
Last Week's Pick to Win (Hyo Joo Kim) - Finished tied for 4th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Morgan Pressel) - Finished tied for 18th
NOTES:The LPGA Tour travels to California this week for the Swinging
Skirts LPGA Classic in San Francisco. The tournament will be played at Lake Merced Golf Club. The course opened in 1923 and was one of the United States' first golf clubs to eliminate gender restriction from its membership policies.

The top 19 players in the world are in the field, led by the big three of Lydia Ko, Inbee Park and American Stacy Lewis. Ko is playing for the first time since tying for 51st at the ANA Inspiration three weeks ago, her worst finish of the season. It was the first time that she did not place in the top-7 in a tournament this year. Park lost in a playoff last week at the LOTTE Championship to Sei Young Kim. She has five top-10 finishes in seven events this season, and has finished no worse than T-13. Lewis is playing for the first time since losing in a playoff to Brittany Lincicome at the ANA Inspiration. She is still looking for her first victory of the season. Lewis has five top-10's in seven events, including three runner-up finishes.

The 2014 tournament marked the first LPGA event in the Bay Area since the 2010 CVS/pharmacy LPGA Challenge held at Blackhawk Country Club in Danville, California. The Bay Area has been a long-time hotspot for the LPGA and has hosted 28 tournaments dating back to the 1953 San Francisco Weathervane, which was won by LPGA Hall of Famer Louise Suggs.

Last year, Ko birdied the 18th hole in the final round to beat Lewis by one stroke and win the inaugural event. Ko collected her third career win on the LPGA Tour, but first as a professional, at 12-under 276. She won the CN Canadian Open in 2012 and 2013 as an amateur.

The LPGA Tour moves to Texas next week for the Volunteers of America North Texas Shootout in Irving, where Lewis captured the 2014 title.

04/21 15:11:04 ET

As of April 21, 2015, at 03:11 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.


arizona sports scores - sports statistic - sports updates