Scores & Stats
Champions Tour

CHAMPIONS - National Qualifying Tournament Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Tuesday, November 18th through Friday, November 21st
SITE: Panther Lake Golf Course, Winter Garden, Florida
COURSE ARCHITECT: Phil Ritson, Dave Harman, Isao Aoki (1997)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,350
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 457 Yds10 - Par 5 530 Yds
2 - Par 5 512 Yds11 - Par 3 228 Yds
3 - Par 4 470 Yds12 - Par 4 437 Yds
4 - Par 3 202 Yds13 - Par 4 440 Yds
5 - Par 4 402 Yds14 - Par 5 624 Yds
6 - Par 3 186 Yds15 - Par 3 227 Yds
7 - Par 5 562 Yds16 - Par 4 453 Yds
8 - Par 4 455 Yds17 - Par 3 167 Yds
9 - Par 4 428 Yds18 - Par 5 570 Yds
36 3,674 Yds36 3,676 Yds
Annual:  30th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Wes Short Jr. (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Mike Reid, Jim Rutledge
Tournament Record (72 Holes):  264 (Jeff Freeman, 2011; Wes Short Jr., 2013)
Tournament Record (108 Holes):  407 (Mark Johnson, 2004)
90-Hole Record:  341 (Don Reese, Hajime Meshiai, 2004)
54-Hole Record:  196 (Steve Haskins, 2009; Wes Short Jr., 2013)
18-Hole Record:  62 (DeWitt Weaver, 1990 - Westin Mission Hills;
  Bill Holstead, 2000 - Bonnet Creek Golf Club;
  Jim Rutledge, 2011 - TPC Scottsdale Champions)
Total Purse:  $200,000
Shares:  1st Place - $30,000; 2nd Place - $20,000; 3rd Place - $18,000
2013 Finish
Wes Short Jr.264Scott Dunlap272
Mike Reid269Willie Wood272
Jim Rutledge269Greg Bruckner272
Doug Garwood272Four players at273
Jeff Hart272
Past National Qualifying Tournament Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013Wes Short Jr. (264) -- Mike Reid, Jim Rutledge
2012Gene Jones (275) -- Jeff Brehaut
2011Jeff Freeman (264) -- Gary Hallberg, Jim Rutledge
2010Keith Clearwater (272) -- Lee Rinker, Phil Blackmar, Frankie Minoza
2009Peter Senior (267) -- Ronnie Black, Steve Haskins, Joe Ozaki
2008Robert Thompson (281) -- John Morse
2007Rick Rhoden/Gene Jones (279) -- Mitch Adcock, Rick Karbowski
2006Boonchu Ruangkit (277) -- Ray Stewart
2005Massy Kuramoto (429) -- Kirk Hanefeld
2004Mark Johnson (407) -- Tom McKnight
2003Mark McNulty (275) -- Mark James
2002Des Smyth (275) -- Seiji Ebihara
2001Howard Twitty (276) -- Larry Ziegler
2000Bob Gilder (269) -- Bill Holstead, Terry Mauney
1999Mark Hayes (277) -- Howard Twitty, Stewart Ginn
1998Allen Doyle (275) -- Bruce Fleisher
1997David Lundstrom (276) -- Jose Maria Canizares
1996Bob Dickson (278) -- Will Sowles
1995Masaru Amano (279) -- John Jacobs, Bobby Stroble
1994Tommy Aycock (278) -- Walter Morgan
1993Bill Hall (284)
1992Larry Gilbert (276) -- Harry Toscano, Doug Dalziel, Bob Wynn
1991Dick Goetz/Tommy Aycock (292) -- J.C. Goosie, John Paul Cain
1990Simon Hobday (271) -- Jack Kiefer
1989Rocky Thompson (281)
1988Al Chandler (280)
1987Doug Dalziel (285)
1986Jim King (284)
1985Buck Adams (427)

Top Players in the Field
Tom ByrumWon 1989 Kemper Open on PGA Tour
Joe DaleyWon 2012 Senior Players Championship
Bill Glasson7 PGA Tour victories, Won 1989 Doral-Ryder Open
Philip GoldingWon 2003 French Open on European Tour
Gary Hallberg3 PGA Tour wins, Won 2010 Ensure Classic Champions Tour
Steve JonesWon 1996 U.S. Open, 8 PGA Tour victories
Greg KraftWon 2008 Puerto Rico Open on PGA Tour
Barry Lane5 European Tour victories
Peter LinhartWon 1999 Madeira Open on European Tour
Cesar MonasterioWon 2006 Aa St Omer Open on European Tour
Jim Rutledge6 Canadian Tour victories, 1 Nationwide Tour win
Mark RypienMVP of Super Bowl XXVI, played 13 years in NFL
Steen Tinning2 European Tour wins, including 2002 Open de Madrid
Willie Wood2 Champions Tour victories in 2012, 1 PGA Tour victory

Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Willie Wood
Darkhorse - Gary Hallberg
Last Week's Pick to Win (Bernhard Langer) - Finished tied for 4th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Marco Dawson) - Finished tied for 12th
The Champions Tour National Qualifying Tournament returns to Florida for the 21st time, as Panther Lake Golf Course in Winter Garden plays host to 78 players seeking entrance to the over-50 circuit. Other states besides Florida to host this event were California (5 times) and Arizona (4 times).

The top five finishers of this tournament will receive full exemptions in 2015 on the Champions Tour. The next seven finishers, Nos. 6-12, get conditional status next year. The top-30 finishers and ties are eligible to compete for spots in open qualifiers at all cosponsored events. The top 30 and ties will also receive a portion of the $200,000 prize money.

Last year, Wes Short, Jr. carded rounds of 64-66-66-68 and cruised to a 5-shot win at Champions Tour Q-School. Short ended at 20-under-par 264, which matched the tournament's 72-hole scoring record Jeff Freeman set in 2011. Short will not be on hand to defend his title this week, as he won the Quebec City Championship this season and finished 16th on the money list.

In 2012, Gene Jones shot rounds of 71-66-68-70 to win and earn full exemption on the tour. Jones finished at 13-under 275 and won by three strokes over Jeff Brehaut. It was the second time that Jones has earned medalist honors at this tournament, having shared the title with Rick Rhoden in 2007.

Robert Thompson carded a pair of late birdies in the final round in 2008 to shoot 2-under 70 and take medalist honors. Thompson finished at 7-under-par 281. Thompson also was co-medalist at the 1981 PGA Tour Q-School. Thompson joined Allen Doyle and Massy Kuramoto as the only players to earn medalist honors at the PGA Tour and Champions Tour Q-Schools.

Former major league pitcher Rhoden shared medalist honors in 2007 with Jones. Rhoden, who held at least a share of the lead after all four days, closed with a 3-under 69 in the final round. Rhoden shot par or better in all four rounds. He pitched 16 seasons in the major leagues with four different teams.

In 2006, Thailand's Boonchu Ruangkit fired rounds of 65-72-66-74 to come away with medalist honors. Ruangkit went wire-to-wire to finish at 11-under-par 277 for a 2-shot win over Ray Stewart. Ruangkit was a 5-time winner on the Asian Tour.

11/17 11:55:34 ET

As of November 17, 2014, at 11:56 AM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.