Major League Soccer

Donovan, Beasley to be US Soccer HOFers

(AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh, File)

FRISCO, Texas (AP) Landon Donovan and DaMarcus Beasley were elected Saturday to the U.S. National Soccer Hall of Fame and will be inducted May 6 along with Lauren Cheney Holiday.

Donovan was picked on 46 of 48 ballots for 95.8% of the vote. Beasley appeared on 45 ballots (93.8%) and Cheney Holiday on 40 ballots (83.3%). The top two players in voting who are on at least half the ballots are elected along with any third-place finisher who appears on at least 75%.

Lori Chalupny was fourth with 32 votes (66.7%), followed by Nick Rimando (29, 60.4%), Josh McKinney (25, 52.1%), David Beckham (23, 47.9%), Cat Reddick Whitehall (17, 35.4%), Robbie Keane (16, 33.3%) and Pablo Mastroeni (15, 31.3%.)