2-time champ Els gets US Open exemption

(AP Photo/Eric Gay)

PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. (AP) Two-time champion Ernie Els has been given a special exemption to the U.S. Open for the second straight year.

Els is the first player since Hale Irwin in 2002 and 2003 to receive special exemptions in consecutive years. Irwin is a three-time U.S. Open champion.

Els won the U.S. Open in a three-man playoff at Oakmont in 1994 and at Congressional in 1997.


Money Leaders: European
Rank Player Earnings
1 Kevin Kisner €1,649,142
2 Shane Lowry €1,186,356
3 Ian Poulter €1,113,131
4 Francesco Molinari €1,093,254
5 Louis Oosthuizen €954,142
6 Xander Schauffele €945,219
7 Justin Harding €887,745
8 Richard Sterne €791,454
9 Bryson DeChambeau €730,944
10 Lucas Bjerregaard €717,579
View Full Leaderboard